The Jewish Heritage Center’s New England Archives of the American Jewish Historical Society holds the records and papers of Jewish organizations and individuals from the Greater Boston metropolitan area and New England. For records of organizations and individuals outside of New England, please visit the American Jewish Historical Society in New York, located at The Center for Jewish History.
Our collections are cataloged as “institutional” or “personal.” Institutional records (denoted by an “I”-number) are from congregations, community service organizations, trade associations, Zionist organizations, burial societies, and academic and cultural organizations. Personal papers (denoted by a “P”-number) are from individuals or families, and in many cases, correspond to some of our institutional collections.
We require that research appointments be made in advance. Some of our collections are off-site. Therefore, we ask that you make a research appointment at least two weeks in advance in case the collection you wish to use is off-site. To schedule an appointment, email email@example.com or use our request form.
Please select a category below to view our collections and available finding aids.
This collection contains a copy of the ethical will of William Abramowitz, first written in Jerusalem on August 3, 1963 and revised in Boston on October 15, 1970. The will highlights Abramowitz's faith and importance he places on Judaism and family. The three-page will ends with the names and dates of relatives that were added after the revision of the will in 1970.
Charles Follen Adams was born in 1842 and was known for his dialectic poems. This collection includes an excerpt from "Leedle Yawcob Strauss" (1876) dated 1882 and signed, as well as a reprint of a photogravure signed by Adams.
Born in Kovno, Lithuania, Abraham Alpert immigrated to the United States, and in 1886 settled in Boston, Massachusetts. He learned English while attending night school and would later become an internationally known writer. Outside of his writing, he also rose to become a prominent Jewish figure and leader, not just in Boston but nationally, as well. One newspaper wrote that there was not a synagogue on the Atlantic Coast that had not heard Alpert talk. He helped organize the Boston branch of the Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society (HIAS), and was active there for over 40 years, aiding over 2000 immigrants in receiving citizenship. This collection contains materials pertaining to Abraham Alpert’s role as a public figure in Boston’s Jewish community, including correspondence, news clippings, a scrapbook and programs.
Rabbi David Alpert was born in Boston in 1900. A graduate of Boston University College of Liberal Arts, Harvard Divinity School and the Jewish Institute of Religion, Alpert was the first Boston born Rabbi and the youngest to be appointed to his own congregation. After serving in World War I, at the age of 24, Alpert was appointed Rabbi of Congregation Beth Hasholom in Williamsport, Pennsylvania. By the 1930s he was living in the Boston area, where he was involved in Jewish chaplaincy at local hospitals, mental health institutions, and in 1947, the State Department. Among those institutions served by Alpert were Boston City Hospital, Jewish Memorial Hospital, Wrenthem State School, Walter E. Fernald State School, Worcester State Hospital, Foxborough State Hospital, and Grafton State Hospital. This collection includes numerous diaries written by Alpert from the 1940s to early 1980s. In addition to the diaries, the collection also contains copies of newspaper articles penned by Alpert on Jewish issues, as well as minutes and notes from various rabbinical conferences. Alpert's Jewish chaplaincy work is reflected in the newsletters and correspondence written on behalf of the institution, although the bulk of newsletters is from Boston City Hospital.
The Altman-Spiewak Family Papers primarily document the Altman family of Boston through the lens of Barbara Altman Spiewak. Frank and Ethel Task Altman raised their children, Barbara and Stanley, in Roxbury, Massachusetts. Barbara was a graduate of Simmons College and was a librarian in the Boston area. This collection includes Frank Altman’s Navy records, baby books, yearbooks, family photographs and a memoir written by Barbara Altman Spiewak. It also includes a memoir written by Robert Spiewak about Phillip Spiewak, Barbara’s father-in-law.
Jennie Loitman Barron was a judge and suffragist. She earned her law degree and master of law at Boston University. As the first president of the Boston University Equal Suffrage League, JLB advocated for equal rights for women. In 1934 she was appointed by the Governor of Massachusetts as a special Justice of the Western Norfolk District. JLB was the first mother on the Boston School Committee, and the first female United States delegate to the United Nations Congress on Crime and Juvenile Delinquency. In 1957, JLB became the first woman who was an Associate Justice of the Massachusetts Superior Court. This collection contains notes for her judicial cases, “Guest of Honor” award and photograph of the event, campaign flyer supporting JLB as the first mother of the Boston School Committee, and award letter for Mr. and Mrs. Ezra Andelman.
Jacob Beerman (1871-1926) immigrated to the United States in 1885 and married Rose Solomon in 1904. The couple had a daughter, Sadie. Jacob owned a stationary company in Boston. The collection contains a book titled The Nineteen Letters of Ben Uziel, inscribed to Beerman from Charles Fleischer, former rabbi of Temple Israel in Boston, and a scroll marking the 25th anniversary of the B’nai Zion Educational Society in 1916.
Edward Bernard was a composer in the Boston area. He also wrote several pamphlets on sociology, religion, politics and music, as well as an unpublished manuscript of a sociological novel entitled, "Maxie the Genius." This collection contains Edward Bernard's musical compositions and writings, including an unpublished manuscript, "Maxie the Genius," and letters to editors of local newspapers and Nathan Kaganoff, former library director of the American Jewish Historical Society. In addition, there are several self-published pamphlets on topics ranging from sociology to music included in this collection.
Israel Bernstein was born in Portland, Maine. He graduated from Harvard College in 1912 and Harvard Law School in 1915. After graduating, he served as a Regimental-Sergeant-Major in the 12th division U.S. Army during World War I. Bernstein co-established the Casco Bank and Trust Co. He played a prominent role in the Jewish Federation of Portland, Maine. In 1948, he was elected President of the Jewish Federation of Portland, Maine and was President and founder of the Jewish Historical Society of Portland, Maine in 1953.
Abraham Bornstein was a well known publisher and collector of art and art books. In 1923, Bornstein founded the Boston Book and Art Shop, which distributed art books from leading publishers of Europe, as well as published books, portfolios and monographs. Abraham and his wife, Rachel, used their publishing house to help encourage and promote many Jewish artists and writers in the United States, among them, Chaim Grade, a Yiddish poet. This collection contains materials from the Boston Book and Art Shop, including financial records and inventory, inventory and sample of collection donated to YIVO, inventory and sample of collection donated to the Jewish National and Hebrew University, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and work of Chaim Grade, גראדע חיים. Also included in this collection are original photographs and certificates.
This collection primarily consists of MB's correspondence and memorabilia pertaining to his Americana collections and involvement in the People-to-People Program. The bulk of the correspondence consists of condolence letters sent to MB's wife, Llora, and include letters from former Presidents Eisenhower and Truman, and former First Lady, Lady Bird Johnson. Bortman's own correspondence includes letters from these luminaries as well as Winston Churchill, former British Prime Minister. Several photographs, some signed, of Bortman with Vice President and Lady Bird Johnson, Churchill, and Eisenhower are included, as well as scrapbooks with news clippings and programs regarding the People-to-People program and the Paul Revere Liberty Bowl.
Rabbi Ber Boruchoff was the first and longest serving rabbi for Congregation Beth Israel in Malden, Massachusetts. This collection contains ledgers with records of marriages performed in the Greater Boston area during the years 1906-1938, as well as some photographs and biographical information.
Percy Brand (1908-1985) was a violinist by profession and Holocaust survivor. Born in Liepaja, Latvia on April 2, 1908, he began playing violin at the age of ten. In 1941, when the Germans took control of Latvia and other Baltic countries, Brand was concertmaster of the Riga Latvian Symphony Orchestra. After the SS Einsatzgruppen units occupying Latvia killed his first wife and two children, Brand was sent to the Buchenwald concentration camp in Germany. Playing the violin saved his life during the Holocaust. Brand and his second wife, Gertrude, immigrated to the United States and moved to Boston in 1949, where Brand became a well-known radio and television performer. He died on August 8, 1985, at the age of 77. This collection contains papers and photographs of Percy Brand, chronicling his professional life as a violinist in Boston. Mainly composed of programs and newspaper articles of his performances, the collection has miscellaneous files with name cards, memos, correspondence, and Brand's artwork in pencil, crayon, and watercolor. Also included is the oversized music stand he used when he performed.
The Bromberg Family papers relate primarily to the political and social activities of Edward J. Bromberg (a lawyer and politician and the first Jewish person elected to the Massachusetts State Senate) and some members of his family. A scrapbook contains items regarding Edward’s sons, Justine and Bertram, and his daughter, Pauline. Other Bromberg family members in the collection are Lev, Henrietta Livingston, Anna Insoft, and Alice Goldstein. The collection includes clippings, programs, and photographs.
Stanley Canner was a 24 year old pilot in World War II, when his plane was shot down over Normandy on July 14, 1944. Canner, along with Alfred Sutkowski from Portland, Connecticut and Russell Leith of Australia were rescued by members of the French underground, and were hidden in a farmhouse owned by Jean and Renee Renault. The couple hid the three soldiers for six weeks, until they were liberated by the Canadian Allied Forces. This collection includes his book, Missing in Action with the French Underground, and photocopies of articles, photographs and correspondence.
The Isaacs and the Davis families were both active members of the Jewish community in Cincinnati, Ohio dating back to the mid 19th century. The Davis family includes Charles K., who along with Leo Wise helped to found the Beersheba immigrant colony in Kansas in 1882. The Isaacs family included many well-known, religious, legal, and medical scholars. The two families were joined together on March 21, 1912 when Ella Davis, daughter of Charles K. Davis and Ida (Fletcher) Davis, married Nathan T. Isaacs, the eldest child of Abraham Isaacs and Rachel Rose (Friedman) Isaacs. Nathan went on to become a prominent legal scholar, and was a Professor of Business Law at the Harvard Business School from 1924 until his death in 1941.
This collection contains correspondence, addresses and speeches, newspaper clippings, and published material relating primarily to Ehrmann's activity in the national and Boston chapter of the American Jewish Committee (1935-1970). Of special interest is material on the relation of the Committee to the American Jewish Conference (1943-1948), the relationship of American Jewry to the State of Israel, and the attitude of the Committee to the establishment of Israel. Also contains genealogical material, in German and in English, between Ehrmann and his relatives in Poland immediately prior World War II, and in Italy immediately after the war. Also contains letters and reports sent by Mrs. Sara Rosenfeld Ehrmann (b. 1895) by the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (JDC) and the United Jewish Appeal, dealing primarily with fund-raising matters.
Mary Wolfman Epstein was a singer, playwright, director, vocal teacher, and talent manager in the Boston area. Epstein worked with many Jewish and secular organizations, and she co-founded the New England Jewish Music Forum. She wrote over 30 original musicals, most of which were based on Jewish themes or individuals. This collection contains news clippings, photographs, recordings, correspondence, sheet music, scripts, and performance programs.
Philip D. Epstein was a trial attorney from 1941 to 1999 and a veteran of World War II. He was active in the Jewish community of Marblehead, Massachusetts and worked with a number of veterans support organizations, such as the National Jewish Welfare Board and Jewish War Veterans of the United States of America. He served two terms as Commander of JWV Post 656 Marblehead-Swampscott. The material in the collection includes correspondence, announcements, meeting minutes, membership rosters, and publications primarily concerning his tenure as JMV commander.
Beatrice Miller Feingold was a past President of both the Worcester Section and New England Region of the National Council of Jewish Women. In addition, she was the first female Vice President of the Worcester Jewish Federation, Vice President of the Worcester Chapter of Brandeis University’s National Women’s Committee, and a board member of the Jewish Community Council and Jewish Family Services of Worcester. Feingold was also one of the founders of the Worcester Area Community Service, the predecessor of the U.S. Job Corps. This collection contains records of the New England Region of the National Council for Jewish Women (NCJW), including annual reports, event programs, research studies, agendas, speeches, by-laws, bulletins, news clips, a limited number of photographs, and correspondence. There are also folders containing newsletters, speeches and programs from local chapters in Connecticut, Massachusetts and Maine.
Dr. Jacob Fine was born on February 10, 1900 in Brockton, Massachusetts. He received both his A.B. and M.D. from Harvard University (classes of 1920 and 1924.) After graduation, he served as House Officer at Lakeside Hospital in Cleveland, Ohio, before moving back to Boston in 1926 to serve on the staff of Beth Israel Hospital. From then on, he divided his time between Harvard Medical School and Beth Israel Hospital. Dr. Fine spent some time on Nantucket Island, where he wrote the memoirs and stories in this collection. This collection contains Dr. Fine’s writings, photographs, and biographical information.
Temple Emanuel Congregation was founded in Newton, Massachusetts in 1935. It is part of United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism (USCJ), and has over 1,100 families in its congregation. Morris Finkelstein became president of the Congregation in 1972 and served until 1975. Main material types include correspondence, governance, membership lists and speeches.
Author and photographer Ilan Fisher was born and lives in Sharon, Massachusetts, where he owned Great Impression, a company that provided event videography services. He also contributed columns to the Sharon Advocate and other local publications, and in 2002, his stories were collected in the book The Carnie Kid Tells All. Fisher’s papers primarily contain invitations from events Great Impression recorded, along with a small group of personal papers, much of which is from the 1960s and documents Fisher’s involvement with the Jewish Socialist-Zionist youth group Habonim.
Mildred Minnie Fishman was born Sarah Minnie Greenberg in Leeds, England in 1896 to Isaac and Ethel Greenberg. The family immigrated to Chelsea, Massachusetts in 1922, and in 1939, Mildred married Maurice Fishman and became a naturalized citizen of the United States. She died in 1995, and the bulk of this collection contains documents related to her end-of-life arrangements, including estate planning, burial arrangements, and will execution. The collection also contains vital and immigration records for Mildred, Maurice Fishman, and Isaac Greenberg.
George Clint Frank (1917-2000) served in the 826th Bombardment Squadron, 484th Bombardment Group, United States Army Air Corps from 1943 until he was discharged at the end of World War II. The collection consists of one folder containing photographs from Frank’s time in the Army, along with his War Department Identification Card and discharge papers.
Aaron Friedman was a rabbi, shochet, and author. He was a shochet in Stavisk, Poland, Bernkastel-on-the-Moselle, Germany, and New York City, and author of a defense of the practice of Shechita entitled, “Tuv Ta’am” in 1874. This collection also contains information on his son, Abraham Friedman and his grandson, Nathan Friedman. This collection consists of correspondence, business documents, family photographs, personal effects, genealogical information, and publications.
The Myron S. Geller Arbitration Files record the arbitration process of a contract dispute between Rabbi Myron S. Geller and Temple B'nai Abraham of Beverly, Massachusetts. The collection contains correspondence between all parties involved in the dispute, as well as legal documents, such as exhibits, affidavit, depositions, hearing transcripts, judgments, briefs, and the claims themselves.
Joseph Glick and Annie Cooperstein emigrated from Russia in the early 1900s and married in Boston in 1898. They had eleven children, and upon Joseph’s death, their son James became administrator of Joseph’s estate. The material in the collection primarily documents James’s disposal of his father’s estate, while also including a family tree and copy of Joseph and Annie’s wedding invitation.
Harold and Romayne Goldberg were active members of numerous Jewish organizations in Boston. Harold Goldberg was a member of the Associated Jewish Philanthropies, American Jewish Committee of Greater Boston and the Combined Jewish Appeal. In 1964 he served as president of the Business Men’s Council of the Combined Jewish Appeal and was also a member of the Combined Jewish Philanthropies. Romayne Goldberg served as president of the Boston chapter of Hadassah from 1948-1951. She also served as president of the Combined Jewish Appeal and the Brandeis National Women’s Committee. This collection consists of newspaper clippings, scrapbooks and photographs documenting and highlighting aspects of the Goldbergs’ extensive roles in the Greater Boston Jewish community.
Meyer H. Goldman was a Boston-based lawyer and Zionist. This collection contains meeting minutes, pamphlets on Zionism, correspondence—including letters between Goldman and the American Council for Judaism, regarding their opposing views on Zionism—drafts of plays and skits, and three books.
Dr. Samuel Goodman was a graduate of the University of the City of New York, Medical Department (now Cornell Medical School) and was one of the first Jewish physicians to practice in Boston. This collection includes clippings, letters, and a photograph pertaining to the medical career of Dr. Goodman.
Albert I. Gordon was a Rabbi, author, and sociologist. Rabbi of Temple Israel of Washington Heights, New York (1929-1930), Adath Jeshurun in Minneapolis, Minnesota (1930-1946) and Temple Emanuel in Newton, Massachusetts (1949-1968), Rabbi Gordon also served as Executive Director of the United Synagogue of America (1946-1949) and wrote numerous articles and pamphlets, as well as the books Jews in Transition, Jews in Suburbia, Intermarriage, and The Nature of Conversion. Gordon also hosted a radio program in Minneapolis on WCCO for many years. This collection contains typescripts of Gordon's radio addresses; research, notes and interviews for his books, various sermons and speeches; correspondence, photographs, and materials from his synagogues.
This collection consists of correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, ephemera, documents and a scrapbook compiled by a Boston area lawyer and civic leader who served in the United States Army during both World Wars and was a participant in the negotiations leading to the Treaty of Versailles and the Paris Peace Conference in 1919.
Herbert Gorfinkle was the eldest child and only son of Colonel Bernard and Frieda Gorfinkle of Newton, Massachusetts. Born in 1923, Gorfinkle came of age during World War II and entered the U.S. Army while an undergraduate at the University of New Hampshire. As a Tech 5 combat engineer, Gorfinkle was responsible for clearing landmines ahead of his advancing unit. He was also a trained army photographer, and aside from his letters home, he documented his years in the War with photographs. A soldier under General Dwight Eisenhower, Gorfinkle participated in the Normandy Invasion and was among the troops that liberated Buchenwald in 1945. This collection includes correspondence and photographs from Gorfinkle’s service in World War II, photographs of Bernard Gorfinkle’s serviced during World War I, and a collection of family carte de visites, cabinet cards and tintypes.
Rabbi Aaron Gorovitz was born in Lithuania in 1870. He immigrated to New York at the age of 22. Before moving to Boston, he was one of the founders of Etz Chaim Yeshiva (later the Rabbi Isaac Elchonon Rabbinical College) and Yeshiva Jacob Joseph, organized the St. John, New Brunswick branch of the Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society, and served as a rabbi in St. John, New Jersey, North Adams, Massachusetts and Woonsocket, Rhode Island before moving to Boston in 1907. Until the end of his life he was rabbi of Congregation Sons of Abraham in Roxbury. Aaron Gorovitz died in 1956.
Professor Arthur Green is a Reconstructionist rabbi, author, and teacher. He is the former president of the Reconstructionist Rabbinical College (RRC) and currently is dean of the Hebrew College Rabbinical School. The collection contains personal and professional correspondence, articles, and manuscripts. Some student work and correspondence is included but is currently restricted.
Samuel H. Gurvitz was the owner of New England Millworks in Dorchester, Massachusetts and a veteran of World War II. In 1936 and 1939, he visited Palestine, and the photographs from this trip are included in the collection. In 1939 Gurvitz visited Paris, Berlin, Warsaw, Vienna and Prague and witnessed firsthand how the political situation in Nazi Germany was impacting European Jews. His notes from these trips are also included in this collection.
This collection has not been processed yet. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you would like more information about this collection.
Adolph Hubbard was a Boston area lawyer and co-founder of the Zionist Organization of America. In 1918, he was appointed as Administrator of the American Zionist Medical Unit by Louis D. Brandeis, and traveled to Palestine to aid in the provision of medical services and establish the American Jewish Hospital. From the 1930s to 1950s, Hubbard was an active and leading member of Zionist organizations. Following his death in 1971, $10,000 was given in his name to establish a Nahala through the Jewish National Fund. The tract of land is located in the Judean Hills, and is leased to Jewish settlers of Mevo Beitar for cultivation.
Rabbi Richard J. Israel was born in 1929 in Chicago. After attending the University of Chicago and Hebrew Union College, Rabbi Israel began his lengthy career in Hillel at the University of California, Los Angeles. He later worked at Hillel at Yale University, followed by an Executive Director position at the Hillel Council of Greater Boston. Rabbi Israel was also the Director of Central Services and Judaica at the Jewish Community Center of Greater Boston and was the Director of the Rabbinic Program at Reconstructionist Rabbinical College. In addition to his work on college campuses and in Jewish education, he was the author of "The Kosher Pig and Other Curiosities of Modern Jewish Life" and "Jewish Identity Games: A How to do it Book." The bulk of this collection contains resources and information pertaining to his career at the Jewish Community Center, although there are several documents regarding his work in Hillel and Reconstructionist Rabbinical College. In addition, a brief memoir of his trip to the Soviet Union in 1974 is included, as well as copies of various Black Panther newspapers from New Haven, Connecticut.
This collection contains the papers of the Kallin family, with the bulk of the materials chronicling Ralph (Tkach) Kallin’s involvement with Piaterer Feirhein and the Sons of Israel organizations. The materials in this collection include correspondence, photos, newspaper clippings, ephemera, meeting minutes, and flyers.
Abraham Kamberg was a Springfield attorney and art collector. The bulk of this collection contains art catalogs, newsletters and prints of artwork donated by Kamberg to museums as well as for local exhibits. Two scrapbooks of news clippings highlighting events in Kamberg’s personal and professional life are also included, as well as some correspondence, photographs, and organizational material.
Judge Jacob J. Kaplan, born March 12 1889, was a prominent and well-respected judge in Boston, Massachusetts. After graduating from Harvard Law School, Kaplan spent seven years under the tutelage of Louis Brandeis, and gained skills that led to employment at the distinguished law firm of Nutter, McClennen and Fish. As a senior partner at Nutter, McClennen and Fish, Kaplan earned great respect from his colleagues and soon began his career as a judge with a seat as the Justice of the Dorchester Municipal Court. Among his many interests was the financial welfare of the city of Boston. This is reflected in the choice to serve on the board of the Boston Finance Commission. This collection contains a eulogy, photographs, a patent, and scrapbooks of articles regarding his work while a member of the Boston Finance Commission.
Max and Anna Kaplan immigrated to the United States from Russia between 1899 and 1902, settling in the Boston area. The bulk of the collection focuses on the activities of their sons Richard S. Kaplan, an attorney, judge, and author in Gary, Indiana, and Louis Kaplan (known professionally as Lou Carter), a jazz drummer and band leader. The collection contains official documents, including Max and Anna’s naturalization papers, news clippings concerning the two brothers, and photographs, primarily of the Carter orchestra.
At the time these photographs were taken in 1981 and 1985, Steven Kellerman was a machinist with an interest in synagogue history. This particular collection of photographs started with Kellerman’s visits to former synagogues in Dorchester and Roxbury, Massachusetts; the project expanded to include most of Massachusetts and other states.
The transcripts and articles in this collection were either written by Rose Klein or transcribed by Klein from The Massachusetts Spy, originally printed between 1775-1845. Klein's papers include those on Jewish life in Worcester, Massachusetts. Transcripts from The Massachusetts Spy are those that are anti-Semitic in nature and were most likely used as research for Klein's articles. This collection does not contain any original documentation.
A statement of appreciation from the Jewish community of Zvehil, Poland, in Hebrew, presented to Jacob Israel Korff on his leaving for the United States, in thanks for his actions on behalf of the community during the pogroms of 1919. The statement is signed, in Hebrew, by members of the community.
George and Sadie Kramer were active and dedicated members of the Zionist movement. Much of their work was done within their home community in Malden, Massachusetts. In Malden they addressed issues facing the Jewish community both locally and globally, including advocacy for Palestine to become the Jewish homeland, organizing community events, and working with the United Jewish Appeal. George and Sadie were also involved in Malden’s Masonic Lodges, George as a Grand Noble and Sadie as a lifetime member of the Germania chapter. Both were honored by the Jewish National Fund, as well as others, for their many years of dedication to the Jewish community.
Harry Levine was the Massachusetts President and Chairman of the Board of the U.S. Plastic and Chemical Company. He was highly involved in the establishment of the State of Israel, primarily related to his facilitating the construction and import of Uzi submachine guns into then British-Mandated Palestine. The majority of this collection includes transcribed interviews with Levine, photographs and correspondence. Biographical information, certificates, speeches and news articles are also included.
Israel Levine was a Hebrew teacher, poet and Yiddish writer from Malden, Massachusetts. This collection contains translations of works into Hebrew and Yiddish, published works in Hebrew and Yiddish, biographical material and correspondence.
Leo Levine was born Leizers Levins in Riga, Latvia, on September 30, 1907. He worked as a European war correspondent until the outbreak of World War II. After immigrating to Dorchester circa 1941, Levine wrote freelance newspaper columns about the war, including several that were published in St. John’s, Newfoundland’s The Telegram. Levine was also an artist. Leo Levine died in November 1980.
The addendum contains materials about Leo Levine's wife, Sylvia Shlifer Levine, and their daughter, Helena Levine Ryan. Sylvia immigrated from Russia in 1913 with her family to escape the pogroms. A graduate of Radcliffe College, she wrote short stories and poems, many of which are included in this collection. Their daughter, Helena Levine Ryan, is a poet and piano teacher. Her work, as well as photographs of the Levine family and various published and unpublished memoirs, are included in this collection.
The Levinson family has its origins in Eastern Europe, though the majority of its members immigrated to the United States in the early 1900s. Members of the family were active in Boston business, science, and law. The material in the collection includes publications, photographs, a scrapbook, a photo album, and awards.
This collection contains speeches and lectures in both draft and final form.
This collection consists of correspondence between members of the Loewenstein family, mainly Eric Loewenstein in New York City, his brother Gerhard Loewenstein in London, and their mother Marie Loewenstein in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. The collection includes letters about Eric Loewenstein’s struggles at starting a new life in the United States after fleeing Nazi Germany and the brothers’ attempt to find an immigration solution for their mother.
Philip W. Lown was a businessman, philanthropist, and leading figure in the Jewish Community. In 1926, he became a joint owner of the Pilgrim Shoe Company in Auburn, Maine, and later president of Penobscot Shoe Company and Lown Shoes Inc. Starting in 1937 and up to his death, Lown worked philanthropically within the Jewish community, most notably in Jewish education. He served on such boards as the American Association for Jewish Education, the B’nai B’rith Hillel Foundations, and the World Council on Jewish Education. He also founded the Lown School of Near Eastern and Judaic Studies and the Graduate Center for Contemporary Jewish Studies at Brandeis University. This collection contains Lown’s autobiographical and biographical memoirs, writings, speeches, notes, personal correspondence, honors, photographs, and news clippings.
The Shevitz and Feldman families were first-generation immigrants from Russia who settled in Worcester, Massachusetts in the early 20th century. Wolf Shevitz changed his name to William Marcus upon enlisting in the United States Army and married Minnie Feldman after his discharge. The collection contains William’s service and naturalization records, correspondence between William and Minnie while William was serving in World War I, photographs of the Feldman and Marcus families, and a series of family histories.
Dr. Elizabeth Wyner Mark was a psychologist and author. This collection contains her education records from elementary school to her post-graduate studies; family correspondence, primarily sent to Elizabeth and her husband, Melvin; journals, diaries and various family legal papers; family photographs as well as photographs taken by Elizabeth; and the research and manuscript drafts of her publications, particularly The Covenant of Circumcision, which she co-edited.
The Milontaler family were second- and third- generation Jewish immigrants from Roxbury, Massachusetts. Louis Millionthaler immigrated from what was then Suwalki, Poland to the North End of Boston in the late 19th century. His son Maurice Milontaler was a shop owner and amateur writer who wrote a memoir about Jewish life in the North End. The majority of this collection includes Maurice Milontaler’s notes for his memoir, as well as the finished product. Photographs, correspondence and course notebooks from Harold Milontaler’s years at Harvard University are also included.
The Morrison family originated in Poland but lived in the Boston area. Morris Morrison immigrated to the United States in 1889, and eventually established his own insurance firm. He married Etta Levin (daughter of Jacob Levin) and was briefly involved in politics at the beginning of the 20th century. His brother, Ralph, was a shochet in Boston. Etta and Morris had three sons, but only two, Robert and Sidney, are represented in this collection. This collection includes memoirs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and naturalization certificates.
Samuel Moshcovitz was born in Russia in 1907 and immigrated to the United States, where he attended college and became an accountant. He was active in several Jewish organizations, including Brandeis University and Beth Israel Hospital, until his death in 1993. The collection contains a collection of sheet music from the early to mid-twentieth century, along with correspondence from lawmakers in response to letters from Moshcovitz regarding United States policy in the Middle East. Another folder relates to copies of a commencement address delivered by Senator Daniel Inouye and distributed by Moshcovitz to lawmakers and Jewish and news organizations.
Max Nigrosh was the President of the Jewish National Fund of Greater Boston and a leader in the Zionist movement in the early to mid-20th century.
Arthur S. Obermayer was a scientist, entrepreneur, and philanthropist born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He established his own research and development company, Moleculon Research Company, in the Boston area and was involved in numerous philanthropic and professional organizations, especially through his foundation, the Obermayer Foundation. Obermayer was also a political activist, and played a key role in establishing the Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Program. This collection contains correspondence, business records, news clippings, notes, photographs, reports, and sound and video recordings documenting Obermayer’s professional work, philanthropy, and political involvement, as well as those of his parents Leon J. and Julia S. Obermayer, his wife Judith Hirschfield Obermayer, and his brother and sister-in-law, Herman J. “Obe” and Betty Nan Obermayer.
This collection contains awards and honors, business records, meeting minutes, financial documents, correspondence, manuscripts, interview transcripts, and speeches documenting the work and personal lives of lawyer and philanthropist David R. Pokross and his wife Muriel K. Pokross.
A Boston lawyer, Hebrew scholar and Yiddish orator, Benjamin Rabalsky was involved in the local Zionist movement. A member of the American Jewish Congress, American Zion Commonwealth, Boston West End Jewish Liberty Loan Committee, Zion Association of Greater Boston and New England Zionist Region, he dedicated much of his time to Zionist causes. This collection contains a small amount of business correspondence and family correspondence.
The Rabinovitz/Rabb family arrived in Boston from Russia in the 1890s. Around 1914 they founded Economy Grocery Stores, which became Stop & Shop in 1946. In addition to building their grocery company into a successful business, the family is known for its philanthropy and active involvement in the Jewish community. The collection contains materials relating to the Rabb family and to the business operations of Stop & Shop until 1989. The materials in this collection include historical sketches, newspaper clippings, press releases, correspondence, memoranda, minutes, reports, advertisements, certificates, speeches, interviews, films, and photographs.
Contains photocopies of four Hebrew letters endorsing Rabbi Rabinovitz, three of which were written by Rabbis Jacob Widrewitz, Ph. Klein and Joshua Siegel in New York in 1907. One is specifically addressed to Cong. Tzemach Tzedek and Agudas Achim of Chelsea, Mass. Also includes the photocopy of a Hebrew contract signed by ca. 50 members of the congregation in 1907, photocopies of two requests for funds from Poland, a photograph of Rabinovitz, an announcement of his son's wedding in 1925, and a special Resolution issued by the Board of Aldermen of Chelsea at his death. Also includes photograph of Rabinovitz & correspondence with Hannah Schiffres re: donation of materials (1981).
Rabbi David Meir Rabinowitz was born c. 1863 and died in 1943. This collection contains a conversion certificate in Hebrew.
Abraham Captain Ratshesky (1864-1943) was a banker by profession who founded the U.S. Trust Company with his brother Israel in 1895, and also served in a variety of political positions, including the Massachusetts State Senate from 1892-1895, delegate to the Republican National Conventions in 1892, 1904, 1908, 1916, and 1924, Assistant Food Administrator for Massachusetts during World War I, and most importantly, United States Minister to Czechoslovakia from 1930-1932. In 1933, Ratshesky was honored with the Order of the White Lion First Class, Czechoslovakia’s highest honor. A noted philanthropist, Ratshesky was involved in relief efforts for the 1917 Halifax Disaster, the donation of the building used for the American Red Cross headquarters in Boston, and the 1925 “Pennies Campaign” to restore the U.S.S. Constitution. He also founded the A.C. Ratshesky Charity Foundation in 1916, still in operation. This collection contains personal and professional photographs of family, friends and trips to Czechoslovakia, reports on actions as U.S. Minister, diaries, films, and letters from new First Lady Coolidge following the death of President Harding.
The Evelyn B. and Janot S. Roskin collection contains items relating to the Roskin, Borofsky, and Grosbayne families, with special focus on the musical contributions of Evelyn B. (née Borofsky) and Janot S. Roskin, which make up the bulk of the collection. A smaller portion of the collection comes from the Borofsky and Grosbayne families, including Jacob and Ida Borofsky, Evelyn's sister, Edith Borofsky and her husband, Mitchell Grosbayne and his brother, Benjamin. The collection includes publicity photographs, clippings, sheet music, sound recordings, and musical compositions.
Sylvia Rosner Rothchild (1923-2009) was an award-winning author and oral historian who focused on the relationships between American and Jewish identity and culture. She published five books and thousands of articles and book reviews during her lifetime, including two collections of oral histories based on testimonies gathered from Holocaust survivors and Soviet Jewish émigrés. This collection primarily consists of transcripts of interviews conducted by Rothchild with members of the Harvard-Radcliffe Hillel Worship and Study Minyan from 1993 to 1996, along with her completed writings based on the interviews and related biographical and background materials.
Lawerence A. (Larry) Ruttman is an attorney and author. This collection contains drafts, manuscripts, notes, research, correspondence, interviews, photographs, news clippings, book reviews, and VHS tapes documenting the research, writing, publication, and promotion of Ruttman’s two books, Voices of Brookline and American Jews and America's Game, as well as other work in the field of biographical cultural history.
The collection contains papers of the Scheinfeldt and Calish families with the bulk of the materials chronicling the achievements and nursing career of Jean Scheinfeldt, the daughter of Joseph Henry and Florence Calish Scheinfeldt. The materials in this collection include birth and death certificates, a marriage certificate, other certificates and awards, ephemera, photographs, and artifacts.
This collection contains the papers of the Schwartz family, with the bulk of materials being letters to and from family members in Austria and Hungary before and after World War II. It contains the original letters written in Yiddish, transcribed and translated versions of those letters, and two compilation books published in 2013 by Carroll Schwartz. These two books include extensive biographical information about the Schwartz and Newman families, photographs, maps, genealogical trees, and additional copies of the letters.
Meyer Seifert was the Cantor of Congregation Adath Jeshurun on Blue Hill Avenue in Roxbury, Massachusetts. This collection contains a poem, written in Hebrew, titled, “Song for the Celebration of the Opening of the University.”
Morton Shanok was Cantor at Temple Beth El in Lynn (and later Swampscott) for thirty-two years and, after his retirement, High Holiday Cantor at Temple B’nai Abraham and Religious Cultural Coordinator at the Jewish Rehabilitation Center for Aged. He served in the U.S. Army as assistant army chaplain from 1942-1945. He was a founding member of the Cantors Assembly and helped write the curriculum at the H.L. Miller Cantorial School and College of Jewish Music of the Jewish Theological Seminary. The material in the collection consists of photographs, correspondence, and documents primarily related to music and Cantor Shanok’s position at Temple Beth El.
Leopold (Leo) Shapiro was born in Paris, France, in 1907 and emigrated with his parents and brother, Jacques, to Roxbury, Boston, Massachusetts, when he was 8 years old. Shapiro began his career with the Boston Globe as a copy boy on the night shift. By 1928, Shapiro was reporting on education topics in Boston. Through much of his career, from the 1940s through the 1970s, Shapiro wrote about the Jewish community in Boston and abroad. Although he covered many other topics, most of the articles were about Israel, Jewish life in Boston and abroad, and the local Jewish community. Between 1946 and 1969, Shapiro wrote the column "Local Lines," which documented and publicized the activities of and programs within the Boston Jewish community. This collection contains newspaper articles written by Leo Shapiro from much of his 52-year career with the Boston Globe. The collection of articles contains works on education, politics, sports, civil right, Boston life, the arts, and the Jewish community in Boston, Israel, and abroad.
Contains the genealogical research of Suzanne Shapiro regarding the Sachs and Herzel families. The collection includes biographical information, a family tree, and a naturalization certificate for George Herzel.
This collection contains transcripts of letters Grace Cohen Shohet wrote to her children prior to her death in 1954. The transcripts were prepared by Shohet’s sister. Also included is a prayer composed by Shohet in honor of the dedication of a museum affiliated with Temple Israel of Boston, Massachusetts.
Leo Shubow was a Boston Rabbi who founded Temple Emanuel in Newton, Massachusetts. Prior to becoming a Rabbi he served as a Yeoman with the International Ice Patrol and wrote frequently about his experiences as well as what happened on the Titanic. This collection contains articles, speeches, and correspondence with Stephen Wise, as well as news clippings and broadsides.
Robert Silverman was an early leader in American Zionism, taking part in and establishing multiple Zionist organizations in his more than forty years in the movement. This collection consists primarily of documents and photographs related to Silverman’s Zionist work. Documents include correspondence and printed materials from various organizations with which Silverman was involved and pamphlets, maps, and newspaper clippings related to Israel and Palestine. The photographs mainly depict scenes from Israel and Palestine, with a few folders of images of Silverman himself and organizational events.
Born in 1888 in Odessa, Sara (Buminowitz) Wernon Sloan immigrated to the United States at the age of ten with her mother and siblings. She became a garment worker and wrote of her experiences working in New York City. This collection contains typed manuscripts of her memoirs written in the 1970s and also includes related correspondence, in which various readers of the memoirs describe their impressions.
This collection has not been processed yet. Please contact email@example.com if you would like more information about this collection.
Eliot Snider was President of Massachusetts Lumber and involved in several regional and national organizations, including the Young Presidents Organization, Beth Israel Hospital of Boston, Massachusetts, and the National Council of Economic Education (NCEE). This collection contains documents and artifacts pertaining to Eliot Snider’s business, philanthropic, and family activities, including photographs, meeting minutes, operational records of Massachusetts Lumber, financial ledgers, and blueprints.
The Snider, Winer, Kane and Korelitz families are documented within this collection, although the bulk of the materials pertain to Stanley and Mary Ann Snider’s immediate family. The Sniders are the founders of Stanmar, Inc., which developed Smugglers’ Notch Ski Resort. The Winers founded Elm Farm Supermarkets, and the Kanes owned furniture stores before becoming involved with the operations of Elm Farms. This collection contains photographs, slides, newspaper clippings, correspondence, and scrapbooks.
Dr. Robert Irwin Sperber is an educator, former superintendent of Brookline Public Schools, professor and administrator at Boston University School of Education. He was responsible for pioneering and implementing a variety of programs, including Brookline Early Education Program (BEEP), the the Metropolitan Council for Educational Opportunity (METCO) inter-district busing program, and Facing History and Ourselves. This collection contains curriculum, speeches, meeting minutes, handbooks, administrative documents, correspondence, financial records, reports and planning documents spanning Dr. Sperber’s fifty-year career in education.
This collection contains correspondence, photos, newspapers and clippings, manuscripts, and financial records documenting the life of Harry Spiro following his immigration from the shtetl of Butrimantz in Lithuania, first to Havana, Cuba and then to the United States. Included in the collection are materials relating to his family, his Zionist activism both in Cuba and in the United States, and his building supply business, Best Lumber.
This collection contains business records, correspondence, news clippings, photographs, meeting minutes, memoranda, architectural plans, promotional materials, publications, and reports documenting the personal, professional, and charitable life of Lionel Spiro. It contains materials on the 1964 founding of Charrette, an art and architectural supply company he co-founded, and its subsequent growth into a national enterprise, as well as Spiro’s work with various organizations, including the Boston Athenæum, the Massachusetts College of Art and Design, the Harvard Alumni Association, and the Harvard Club of Boston.
Myer Starr was born in Dmitrovka in the Ukraine, which was then part of Russia. As a child he was apprenticed to a tailor and later a bakery before he began work at a dry goods store at the age of 11. After his mother died, Starr and his younger brother crossed the border into Germany and then immigrated to the United States. Starr and his brother sailed on the "Kleist" into New York in February 1913. From there, they traveled to a sister's house in Malden, Massachusetts. Myer later married and had two sons, graduates of Harvard College and Tufts University.
This collection contains photographs, scrapbooks, comic strips, publications, memoirs, and reports documenting the family life of the Sterling, Selesnick, Segal, Shapiro, Katz, and Zoll families, as well as the educational and professional work of Hinda Sterling and Herb Selesnick—particularly the work they conducted for Sterling & Selesnick, Inc., their organizational consulting firm, and Stockworth, the comic strip they produced.
Oscar and Celia Sterman immigrated to the United States in 1916 and settled in Brookline, Massachusetts, where they raised a family and became increasingly involved in the establishment of the State of Israel. The Stermans donated funds for the construction of several buildings in Beersheba and Eilat, Israel, including a library, sports center, youth center, and also provided funding for the addition of the Electro Mechanic Department to the Max Pine Trade Center. This collection documents both their family life as well as their considerable contributions to Israel, as well as their travels to the country.
Contains papers and photos including correspondence and other materials relating to work as Chairman of the Jewish Agency for Palestine (and Israel), as National Chairman of the United Jewish Appeal, as a leading campaigner for Israel Bonds, and as co-founder of and Chairman of the Board of the Weizmann Institute of Science; 2 texts of radio broadcasts made in 1948 informing America about the Israeli war for independence and the new Israeli republic; a list of military equipment supplied by Mr. Stone to Israel in 1948; letters and biographical material relating both to pressure applied by Mr. Stone and others on Pres. Truman to recognize and support the new Jewish state and to Mr. Stone's financial support of Truman's campaign and the Democratic Party in 1948; materials on associations with Boston University (including the dedication of the Dewey D. and Harry K. Stone Science Building), and the Truman Library; tributes and awards; biographical material; memorials; miscellaneous speeches, presentations, and essays; miscellaneous press clippings; and various photographs. Among the correspondents are: Chaim Weizmann, Vera Weizmann, Abba Eban, David Ben Gurion, Harry S. Truman, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, Richard Nixon, the Rothschilds, Hubert Humphrey, Adlai E. Stevenson II, Teddy Kollek, Golda Meir, Richard Cardinal Cushing, Jacob Fine, Henry Ford II, Solomon Goldman, John M. McCormack, Meyer Weisgal, and Stephen S. Wise.
Materials pertaining to Stone's Zionist activities include organizational speeches and essays prepared by Stone; materials relating to the Palestine Resolution introduced by Stone into the Massachusetts Legislature and materials relating to the Lodge-Fish Resolution, including a partial account of Stone's role in the passing of the resolution as well as correspondence with Henry Cabot Lodge; correspondence from Stone's tenure as President of the New England Zionist Region; correspondence in his association with the World Zionist Organization, the Zionist Organization of America, the Jewish National Fund, and Keren Heyesod. The collection also includes speeches and writings of Louis Lipsky and speeches given by Henry Cabot Lodge, Colonel Josiah Wedgewood, Congressman John C. McCormack, Governor Frank G. Allen, and an address given by an unidentified Knesset member (probably Abba Eban) before the Mass. Legislature (1949).
Adolphus Strassman (alias Rich) was born in 1850 in Hungary, which was at that time part of the Austria-Hungary Empire. As a child, he immigrated with his family to the United States. They settled in Fall River, Massachusetts, where he lived with his mother, Rosa, stepfather Harry Strassman, and two half-siblings, Etta and Harry. From 1863-1865, he served in the Union Army. He served as a Private in the 2nd Regiment of the Massachusetts Volunteer Heavy Artillery, Company I, under Captain John D. Parker Junior. His diary includes information about the Battle of Wyse Fork (South West Creek). The collection includes pension and discharge certificates, correspondence, a medallion, wallet with calling cards, photographs, Commonwealth of Massachusetts Commendation for services rendered (fragile, restricted), and a diary (1865).
This collection has not been processed yet. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you would like more information about this collection.
The Taylor-Tatelbaum family resided in the Boston area. These papers include those of Barney and Jennie Tatelbaum, Harry and Fannie Cohen, and Alan Taylor (nee Abraham Tatelbaum.) The collection includes genealogical information, photographs, college papers, yearbooks, correspondence, plaques, naturalization certificates and vital records.
Benjamin Ulin was born in Boston on Oct. 21, 1899. He attended Harvard and later graduate school at the London School of Economics. He was highly active in the Jewish community and Boston community. He served as President for the Boston board of the Associated Jewish Philanthropies (1953-1956) and the Combined Jewish Philanthropies (1962-1964). He served as Vice President for the Zionist Council (1943-1960) and Vice President and founder of Zionist House (1945-1988). He was founder and President of the Jewish Community Council (1953-1956) and the Jewish Community Housing for the Elderly (1965-1975). He has also served on the board of the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds (late 1950s) and the National Jewish Community Relations Advisory Council (since its inception). He was the first President of the Large City Budgeting Conference.
This collection contains correspondence from Bernard Weinronk of Port Elizabeth, South Africa, to his cousin Bernard Weinberg of Boston, Massachusetts. Also included are meeting minutes describing the goals, resolutions, and activities of Zionist groups in which Weinronk was active.
This collection consists of correspondence, memoranda, reports, press releases, pamphlets, publications and other similar materials pertaining to Weinstein's involvement in Jewish organizations and institutions in the Boston area and nationally.
Originally from Salem, Massachusetts, Louis Winer received both his undergraduate and law degree from Boston University. Admitted to the bar in 1916, the outbreak of World War I interrupted his law career, as Winer served in the American Expeditionary Forces in France. This collection includes photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, awards and an American Legion military cap and medal.
Richard Winer was born in 1927 in Salem, Massachusetts. An active member of the Jewish community, he was a past President of Temple Shalom and founder and former President of the Jewish Heritage Center of the North Shore. This collection includes a variety of marriage, birth and naturalization certificates, photographs, news clippings, and programs pertaining to family activities and family members, including Max Winer, Louis Winer, Benjamin Winer and Dorothy Winer.
Henry Wise was a Boston-area lawyer whose practice focused mainly on housing, fishing, and labor, three areas in which he crafted important local legislation. In 1942 he wrote to the Institute of Jewish Affairs, a research branch created by the American and World Jewish Congresses, inquiring after membership. The Institute of Jewish Affairs was made up primarily of scholars, who took a scientific approach towards researching Jewish life from the previous 25 years. They hoped to better understand the current situation for Jews by looking at how the events in Nazi Europe were able to occur, as well as create policies that would protect Jews in a post-war environment. When Wise became a member of the Board of Trustees for the Institute he received a number of materials pertaining to its activities.
Consists of correspondence, in the form of postal cards, between family members in Vilna, London, New York City and Boston at the turn of the century. Corresponding members of the family include D. [David] Wolk in London and Boston, J. Wolk in London, S. [Sam or Salomon] Wolk in Boston, New York and Malden, Massachusetts and B. Wolk in Cambridge and Malden, Massachusetts, as well as P. Fine in Boston, with whom D. Wolk and S. Wolk temporarily resided.
The Wolpers were a Jewish family from Chelsea, Massachusetts. In 1949, they issued a petition to the school board, raising concerns about Christmas carols and pageants in public schools. The resulting negative criticism from Jews and non-Jews, as well as the anti-Semitic letters sent to the Wolpers, eventually caused them to remove the petition. The collection includes the letters sent to the Wolpers, as well as newspaper clippings and correspondence with the school board.
The Wyner Family Collection documents the personal, professional, organizational and philanthropic activities of three generations of a prominent Boston Jewish family. The documents describe the operations of the family knitting and textile businesses, the building and management of the Ritz-Carlton Hotel of Boston and the development and operations of the Beth Israel Hospital of Boston (1926-2001.) This collection describes the Wyner family's involvement in a wide variety of organizations, both Jewish and non-Jewish, and spans almost a century of involvement in community affairs and includes such organizations as the American Jewish Historical Society (1962-2005), the Brookline Town Meeting (1960-1995), Adath Jeshurun Synagogue and Cemetery Association (1956-1995), Temple Israel of Boston (1960-1999), Combined Jewish Philanthropies (1969-1999), Jewish Community Relations Council (1970-1990) Union of American Hebrew Congregations (1980-1995) and both the National and New England Knitted Outerwear Association (1977-1992.) There is extensive material documenting the operations of the Wyner Mills, financial statements and legal papers concerning various family trusts, correspondence, governance and financial reports documenting Justin Wyner's Presidency of the American Jewish Historical Society and the involvement of several of the family members with the Beth Israel Hospital, the Combined Jewish Philanthropies and the Jewish Community Relations Council. Included in these organizational papers are meeting minutes, reports, correspondence and financial statements.
Rabbi Maurice L. Zigmond, or “Ziggy” as he was known to friends and colleagues, was born in Denver, Colorado on March 5, 1904. Rabbi Zigmond taught Anthropology at Yale from 1948-1961, but he began his career as a counselor for Jewish college students in 1935, and was a staunch advocate of Hillel establishing and directing several Hillels throughout his professional career. In 1941, he established the Hillel Foundations at both Yale and the University of Connecticut, and from 1955-1956 he served as the Director of the B’nai B’rith Hillel Foundation at Hebrew University in Jerusalem. From 1947-1968 he was the Hillel Director at Harvard and Radcliffe, and in 1950-1969, he was the New England Regional Director of B’nai B’rith Hillel Foundations. This collection contains correspondence, program and financial reports, and information pertaining to the activities of a variety of organizations and Hillel foundations. The bulk of the material reflects Rabbi Zigmond’s tenure as the Hillel Director at Harvard and Radcliffe (1947-1969) and the New England Regional Director of the B’nai B’rith Hillel Foundations (1950-1969).
Aleph Zadik Aleph, known almost exclusively as AZA, was founded in Omaha, Nebraska in 1924 as a local social and service group for young Jewish men. Eventually the AZA separated itself from its role as the official youth auxiliary of B'nai B'rith and continues to operate today as the BBYO (B'nai B'rith Youth Organization). This collection contains correspondence, pamphlets, governance documents and promotional material from AZA chapters on the North Shore (Chelsea, Everett, Lynn, and Swampscott-Marblehead), Mattapan, and Sharon.
Organized in Lynn, Massachusetts in 1931, the Alpha Delta Chapter was accepted into the national Alpha Phi Pi Jewish high school fraternity in 1932. After a period of dormancy, the Chapter was briefly reactivated in 1953 and an Alpha Delta Alumni group was formed in 1954. The material in this collection includes event programs and invitations, correspondence, photographs, news clippings and bulletins, Convention yearbooks, and a map and guide to Boston.
The American Physicians and Friends for Medicine in Israel (APF) is an organization of physicians and health care professionals whose aims are to advance the state of medical education, research and care in Israel and to advance relationships between the health care communities of North America and Israel. This collection contains materials relating to the organization’s activities and internal proceedings, including correspondence, scrapbooks, reports, meeting minutes, financial statements, publications, events, photographs, and audiovisual materials.
The American Technion Society was founded in 1940 as an organization to aid the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, with the goal to aid the technological and scientific advancement of Israel. The Women’s Division, which was founded in 1956, did so by focusing its efforts on three main national programs: faculty recruitment, medical engineering, and student aid. Beginning in the 1970s, special interest was given to the Medical Engineering Project in the Medical School, a cause of importance to the Boston Chapter of the Women’s Division. The collection contains correspondence, mailings, speeches, notes, minutes, news clippings, photographs, and documents pertaining to the National Board Meeting held on April 25, 1990.
The Anshey Dowig Association began in the last quarter of the 19th century, initially as informal meetings for Jews from the region of Dowig, Lithuania, living in the Boston area. The association functioned as a benefit society for its members and in 1898, with the acquisition of burial plots in a cemetery in West Roxbury, it also established itself as a chevra kadisha or burial society. By the 1980s, as membership dropped, it began working towards reviving the organization as a cemetery corporation, its main function being to maintain and provide perpetual care for the graves in the Anshe Dowig Cemetery. The collection includes the constitution and by-laws, minutes, financial records, government documents & correspondence concerning the activities of the landsmanshaft, mostly relating to its cemetery in Dedham, as well as a fiftieth anniversary souvenir booklet with a membership list.
Although there is little information available about the Lynn, Massachusetts chapter of B'nai B'rith, internationally the organization is known for ensuring the continuity of the State of Israel and the Jewish people through education, advocacy and social services. This collection contains newsletters from the Lynn, Massachusetts chapter.
The B’nai B’rith Peabody Lodge No. 2765 was founded in 1969 as a local chapter of the larger B’nai B’rith International, which advocates for the Jewish people and works to combat anti-Semitism. The Peabody Lodge engaged in a variety of service and charitable activities in the Peabody area. This collection contains awards, correspondence, photographs, a scrapbook, and other miscellaneous materials.
The B’nai B’rith Swampscott-Marblehead Chapter No. 847 is a local chapter of B’nai B’rith International, an organization founded in 1843 that advocates for the Jewish people and the State of Israel and works to combat anti-Semitism. This collection contains a program for an installation and dinner as well as the chapter’s newsletters.
B’nai B’rith Women (now known as Jewish Women International) is an international women’s group that promotes advocacy for women and the Jewish community through education, advocacy, and social services. The Greater Lynn Chapter No. 367 began in 1942 as a women’s auxiliary of B’nai B’rith Greater Lynn Lodge. This collection contains an annual report, journals, awards, correspondence, news articles, photographs, and scrapbook.
Beth Hamidrash Hagodol (known colloquially as the Crawford Street Shul), was founded in 1913 in a small house on Harold Street in Roxbury, Massachusetts. In 1915, the cornerstone of the synagogue was placed at 105 Crawford Street in the Elm Hill District of Roxbury. The congregation elected Louis M. Epstein as their first Rabbi in 1918. This collection contains the business, activity and social records of Beth Hamidrash Hagodol, including correspondence, financial records, ledgers, yearbooks, souvenir books, and meeting minutes.
In 1916, the Jewish community of Boston established Beth Israel Hospital on Townsend Street in Roxbury to provide health care to immigrants in the area. Although accessible to everyone, the hospital provided Yiddish-speaking services for Eastern European Jewish immigrants and served kosher food, as well as conducted Jewish religious services. In 1928 the hospital entered into a teaching agreement with Harvard Medical School, Tufts University, and Simmons College. Shortly thereafter, the hospital moved to its current location in the Longwood area of Boston and expanded to a 220-bed operation. During 1935-1936, at the height of the Depression, Beth Israel spent 1.5 million dollars in free patient care and was only one of two local hospitals to offer health care to people on welfare. In 1996, Beth Israel Hospital merged with Deaconess Medical Center and became Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. This collection contains reports, pamphlets and hospital publications.
This collection includes material preceding and relating to the founding of the Jewish Community Relations Council of Greater Boston (JCRC), including early papers of the local American Jewish Committee and the Central Advisory Committee (a predecessor agency),the constitution and by-laws of the JCRC, material relating to organizational membership in and representation in the organizations, correspondence of the officers and staff, minutes of meetings and proceedings of its Administrative Committee and other committees; and the organization's finances. Also included are material on the relationships between the JCRC and other Jewish agencies, including the American Jewish Committee, the American Jewish Congress, the Anti-Defamation League of B'nai B'rith, Combined Jewish Philanthropies of Greater Boston, National Community Relations Advisory Council, and community councils and local agencies in other communities, as well as extensive material on the activities of the organization, including antisemitism and antisemitic organizations, individuals, writings, and incidents; civil liberties and political extremists; civil rights, black-Jewish relations, and changing neighborhoods; Christian-Jewish relations, especially with the local Catholic community and Church hierarchy; church-state problems relating to education, Sunday blue laws, dietary laws, and adoption; crime and law enforcement; discrimination in housing, employment, and university admissions; immigration; intergroup relations; Israel and the Middle East, including material on Arab propaganda, boycotts, terrorism, Christian attitudes toward Israel, United States policy, Jews in Arab countries, and pro-Israel organizations and activities; Israel anniversary celebrations; Nazism, the Holocaust, and World War II; political campaigns and organizations. In addition, this series includes extensive correspondence with local and national government officials, rabbis and synagogues, and Soviet Jewry, as well as material on the public conferences of the organization, JCRC publications and releases, and photographs of JCRC activities and individuals connected with the organization.
This collection contains materials collected by Boston’s JCRC, which monitored the situation as well as participated in the review of the report. Materials include news clippings, written reactions from the organizations, notes and correspondence from JCRC director Robert Segal, and the full report with recommendations, reactions and NCRAC action steps.
Created to provide mutual aid and education, The Workmen's Circle was established in New York in 1900 and officially chartered in 1905. Massachusetts established an Independent Workmen's Circle in 1903 to maneuver around prohibitive insurance laws, but was able to unify with the national organization in 1921. Several chapters were operational in Massachusetts by 1911. The Boston District often mirrored National's development, including the establishment of cemeteries, a chorus, a camp, and I.L. Peretz Schools. The Workmen's Circle focused on Jewish life and culture, promoted the use of Yiddish, and provided a place of learning for members. The Workmen's Circle was also instrumental in the creation of the Jewish Labor Committee in 1934. This collection contains correspondence, meeting notices and minutes, mortgages, curriculum, event flyers and programs, and news clippings from the Boston District, local branches, New England Region and National offices.
This collection includes constitution, minutes of the Board of Trustees (1934-1948, 1953-1958), budgets (1942-1948, 1951-1953, 1955-1958), financial reports, material on membership, and numerous activities. Among the latter is extensive material on camping, clubs, and the nursery school. Contains material on the history of Hecht House, surveys, publications, and other material issued, photographs, and memorabilia. Includes similar material of the YMHA for the years 1933-1958, and for the merged organization for the years 1959-1970. Among the latter are the minutes of the Board of Directors (1959-1970) and budget reports (1959-1963). Contains some material of the Hebrew Industrial School as well as papers on the following institutions relating to the work of the Hecht House: Associated Jewish Philanthropies, Central Service Agency for Groupwork, Combined Jewish Philanthropies, Greater Boston Council of Jewish Centers, Jewish Centers Association, Jewish Community Centers Camps, Jewish Community Council of Metropolitan Boston, National Jewish Welfare Board, National Association of Jewish Center Workers, New England Association of Jewish Center Workers, New England Association of Jewish Center Youth Councils, New England Association of Young Adult Councils, United Jewish Youth Council, and United Synagogue of America.
Organized in April 1924, the records of Boy Scout Troop 4 (Sachems) of Lynn, Massachusetts span from 1924 to 1945. During World War II, the scouts participated in an Emergency Service Corps, and were invited to participate in the Boy Scout - General Eisenhower Waste Paper Campaign. The material in this collection includes weekly meeting programs and reports, newspaper clippings, scout assignments and certificates, correspondence, financial records, a photograph, and the American flag used by the Troop.
The Bureau of Jewish Education (BJE) in Boston, Massachusetts, was founded in 1920 when the Associated Boston Hebrew Schools and Bureau of Jewish Religious Schools merged under the leadership of Louis Hurwich. While not the first centralized Jewish education organization in the country, the BJE was the first to receive support from its local Federation. From 1920 to 2009, the BJE provided consultation, evaluation and teacher training services using a variety of methods and tools. It worked closely with Jewish day schools, synagogue schools and non-traditional Jewish community programs to ensure professional standards and guidelines were implemented. This collection contains meeting minutes, Jewish school directories, publications, reports, glass plate negatives and financial ledgers. For more detailed records, please also see the Bureau of Jewish Education (Boston, Mass.) Records, I-497.
The Bureau of Jewish Education (BJE) in Boston, Massachusetts, was founded in 1920 when the Associated Boston Hebrew Schools and Bureau of Jewish Religious Schools merged under the leadership of Louis Hurwich. While not the first centralized Jewish education organization in the country, the BJE was the first to receive support from its local Federation. From 1920 to 2009, the BJE provided consultation, evaluation and teacher training services using a variety of methods and tools. It worked closely with Jewish day schools, synagogue schools and non-traditional Jewish community programs to ensure professional standards and guidelines were implemented. This collection contains pamphlets, reports, correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, curriculum, programmatic information, grants, meeting minutes, agendas, audio-visual materials, media and publicity. For additional information, please see the Bureau of Jewish Education (Boston, Mass.), I-120.
The Cambridge Hebrew Ladies Educational Society was first formed in 1898 for the purpose of teaching the Hebrew language to Jewish children. The society was renamed the Cambridge Hebrew Women's Aid Society in 1914, and reorganized to include a broad range of philanthropic causes, including the care of tubercular patients and provision of Passover food to the needy. The collection contains bound ledgers of meeting minutes from 1914-1969.
The Chelsea-Revere School was established by Monas Berlin in 1896 and served the Chelsea, Massachusetts Jewish community until 1979. The collection contains the records of the institution and its activities including meeting minutes, financial records, correspondence, personnel manifests, memos, publications, photographs, memorial documents, and school function notices, as well as press materials in the form of newspaper clippings.
Chevra Kadusha of Boston is an independent, non-denominational organization of individuals, synagogues, universities and other Jewish institutions committed to making the full range of burial rituals accessible and available to the entire Jewish community. It was organized and instituted in 1856.
The Combined Jewish Philanthropies (CJP) of Boston, Massachusetts is the oldest federated Jewish philanthropy in the United States. The current incarnation of CJP was formed in 1960, when two separate federated philanthropies – the Combined Jewish Appeal and Associated Jewish Philanthropies – merged to create a single organization dedicated to serving the needs of Boston’s Jewish community. CJP’s records contain the history of several other organizations, from the forerunners of the current Federation to the Jewish institutions supported by CJP. Their beginnings can be traced to the founding of the United Hebrew Benevolent Association (UHBA) in 1864 at the Pleasant Street Synagogue (now Temple Israel). This collection contains meeting minutes, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, financial documents and ledgers, appeal information, publicity, programs, brochures and other written documents relating CJP’s history.
This collection contains material pertaining to the establishment of the organization, including a list of incorporators, and lists of constituent members, minutes of meetings (November 1970-February 1972), a speech giving a review of the group's activities (1972), and financial records (July 1970-March 1972). Also contains general correspondence (March 1970-March 1972), correspondence with Combined Jewish Philanthropies of Greater Boston (1970-1971), and information on the group's Chavurat Shabbat project (1972), and Jewish Students Projects.
Congregation Adath Israel was established in 1919 by a small group of Jewish farmers in Newtown, Connecticut. The synagogue expanded its building in 1957 and converted from the Orthodox movement to the Conservative movement in the 1970s. In 2007, they relocated to a larger building within Newtown. The collection primarily consists of administrative and financial records, along with newspaper clippings, photographs, and miscellaneous documents.
Incorporated in 1901, Congregation Ahabat Sholom constructed a German Romanesque synagogue on Church Street, which was dedicated in 1905 during a ceremony lead by the congregation's first cantor, Benjamin Gordon. The congregation was one of Lynn’s several Jewish Orthodox congregations in the early 1900s. This collection contains administrative records, photographs, scrapbooks, and programmatic materials.
Congregation Anshai Sfard (Anshei, Anshe, Anshi) was a Hasidic, conservative Jewish Synagogue established by Jewish immigrants in Lynn, Massachusetts from 1888 to December 1999. This collection contains a letterpress printing block used to print the incorporation papers, a large "Golden Book of Congregation Anshei Sfard," which includes an illuminated manuscript with hand-painted and gold-leafed elements, a donor list, newspaper clippings, and photographs; meeting minutes, several family history scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, purchase and sales agreements, and photographs.
Congregation Beth Israel began in 1888 when a group of young men spilt from Shomre Beth Abraham to form their own congregation. A year later they relocated to an old Baptist Church located on Baldwin Place in Boston's North End. The Baldwin Place synagogue housed a sanctuary on the ground floor as well as schools and meeting rooms in the space above. It was the largest shul in the North End and was considered the center of Boston Orthodoxy. Rabbi Moshe Zevulun Margolies presided over it and was considered to be the chief rabbi of Boston's Orthodox community. In 1920 it was disbanded. This collection contains records of the Congregation Beth Israel, 1887 and 1890. It includes a constitution booklet from 1887. Also in the collection is a deed of sale from 1890 and an indenture that pertains to the deed.
Includes a copy of the constitution and a short history of the congregation; the minute books (1911-1923; 1939-1945) and financial records (1925-1937) of various activities of the synagogue and its relation with local, national and international Jewish events. Of special interest are the synagogue’s involvement in the providing of kosher meat in the Cambridge area, and its relation with the Cambridge and Somerville Hebrew Literary Association which maintained a Hebrew Free School. Minute book from the WWII period contains material on the congregation’s war effort and anti-Nazi and Zionist activities.
Congregation Beth Israel was founded in 1843 and is Connecticut's oldest synagogue. Originally established as an Orthodox congregation, the synagogue eventually converted to Reform and was one of the founding members of the Union of American Hebrew Congregations (Union for Reform Judaism) in 1877. This collection includes event flyers, programs for services, sermons, anniversary books with historical information, and bulletins.
Congregation Linas Zedek was located on Chestnut Street in Chelsea, Massachusetts. Founded by Ukrainian immigrants from the Kamen Kashirsky region and the local carpenter's union, it was defunct by the 1980s. The synagogue's cemetery is located in Everett, Massachusetts. This collection contains a ledger with minutes of the Ladies' Auxiliary of Congregation Linas Zedek, a membership ledger, and miscellaneous event flyers and invitations in Yiddish. The minutes ledger is in English (from 1929-1931) and Yiddish (1931-1944), and also contains a news clipping about the founding of the Ladies Auxiliary with names of officers.
Congregation Mishkan Israel in Hamden, Connecticut was founded in 1840. Their cemetery was established in 1843 in the Westville section of New Haven, Connecticut. This collection consists primarily of newsletters and other synagogue publications, as well as invitations to the 100th anniversary of the synagogue and other events.
Congregation Mishkan Tefila was founded in 1858 as Mishkan Israel, and is considered to be the oldest conservative synagogue in New England. Its founding members were East Prussian Jews who separated from Ohabei Shalom, which was predominately Polish at the time. In 1894, Mishkan Israel and another conservative synagogue, Shaarei Tefila, merged to form Congregation Mishkan Tefila. The synagogue moved its religious school to Walnut Street in Newton in 1955, and began planning for a new building in Chestnut Hill on Hammond Pond Parkway. The groundbreaking ceremony was on November 13, 1955. In 1958, services were held for the first time in the new synagogue building. This collection contains plays, annual reports, programs for events and dinners, and newsletters.
Congregation Ohave Sholom was formed on January 20, 1910 in Gardner, Massachuesetts. At the time the synagogue was built, Ohave Sholom had 20 families as members, but during World War I the population peaked, and 60 families held membership. However, by the 1970s membership began to decline and in 1998, with only 12 members remaining, the congregation dissolved.
Congregation Tifereth Israel was founded in Everett in 1910 and dedicated their first synagogue in 1912. After working in close partnership for nearly 30 years, Congregation Tifereth Israel merged with Everett Hebrew School and Community School to become Congregation Tifereth Israel and Community Center in 1955. In 2016, Congregation Tifereth Israel and Community Center merged with the North Shore Chabad Lubavitch. This collection contains meeting minutes, news clippings, photographs, newsletters, and programs documenting the activities and operations of the synagogue, community center, and Hebrew school.
The Delta Phi Alpha Fraternity was a Jewish fraternity at Massachusetts State College (now the University of Massachusetts.) This collection consists of one copy of the Mogen David, a newsletter by the Delta Phi Alpha Fraternity. The newsletter focuses on pledges as well as appeals to alumni for financial support. News and tidbits about former and current members of the fraternity are also included.
Elm Farm Foods was first established as M. Winer Company in 1895 in the North End of Boston. The expansion of this single small store in the next several decades preluded the rise and development of Elm Farm Supermarkets in the region, followed by the company’s shift from retail to wholesale. Winer family holdings have also included various affiliated trusts and corporations managing many aspects of the company’s business and real estate. The bulk of these documents depict the financial activities and accounting procedures of these company affiliates, focusing primarily on funds, investments, and shareholders. The collection also includes administrative documents, such as correspondence and memoranda, concerned with the management of real estate, retail operations, and personnel.
The Farband Labor Zionist Order was a Jewish fraternal organization founded in 1910 and chartered in New York in 1913. With branches across the United States and Canada, it functioned as a mutual aid society aligned with the Socialist and Zionist political party Poale Zion. The material in the collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, publications, press releases, photographs, meeting minutes, brochures, and memos.
The Massachusetts Observance of the American Jewish Tercentenary documents the correspondence, activities, photographs and publications of the Greater Boston Committee’s efforts to celebrate the 300th Anniversary of Jewish settlement in the United States. Many notable Boston Jewish community members were a part of the planning and implementation of activities, which included a celebration at Symphony Hall and a musical for children entitled "A Happy Land."
This collection contains materials related to the Lynn, Salem-Beverly-Danvers, and Swampscott-Marblehead chapters of Hadassah, the Women's Zionist Organization of America, including a history of the Lynn chapter produced in 1993, newsletters from the Salem-Beverly-Danvers chapter, and notes, pamphlets, and other information contained in the personal binder of Swampscott-Marblehead chapter president Irma Levenbach.
Louis Hurwich, then superintendent of the Bureau of Jewish Education of Boston, founded Hebrew Teacher’s College in 1921. Hurwich was concerned about Jewish teachers leaving the field of Jewish education for other professions and sought an educational system that promoted Hebrew literacy at all levels. Hebrew Teacher’s College was also responsible for maintaining Hebrew High School (Prozdor), located at 14 Crawford Street in Roxbury, Massachusetts. Those students who graduated from the high school could matriculate to Hebrew Teacher’s College without having to take an exam. In 1943, the high school offered Talmud classes in addition to its regular curriculum, with studies in the Bible, Hebrew, Jewish History, and codes and customs. In 2002, the College moved to its current location in Newton, Massachusetts. One year later, it opened its Rabbinical School. This collection contains brochures, catalogs, commencement addresses, event fliers, invitations, pamphlets and publications.
The Hebrew Educational Alliance was formed in Roxbury, Massachusetts and built a community hall there in 1921, establishing an orthodox synagogue, Congregation Toras Moshe, soon after. The Congregation sold the land and merged with Congregation Kadimah of Brighton, MA in 1964 to form Congregation Kadimah-Toras Moshe. The collection contains administrative records, such as ledgers, insurance records, correspondence, and membership lists, as well as documents sent to members of the Congregation, including notices and souvenir booklets. There is also one small group of photographs.
The Hebrew Free Loan Society was organized in 1912 to assist those in need of temporary financial relief. Formed in the wake of increasing immigration from Eastern Europe and the proliferation of urban poverty, the Society also became a constituent of the Federation of Jewish Charities. These records document the Society’s major operations and include administrative articles, in meeting minutes, and financial reports and statements.
The Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society (HIAS) was founded in New York City in the 1880s by the Russian Jewish community of New York in response to the influx of Russian Jewish immigrants fleeing the pograms in the Pale of Settlement in Russia and Eastern Europe. In 1889, a shelter which was used to house many of the immigrants adopted the name “Hebrew Sheltering House Association.” This organization merged with HIAS in 1909 and by 1914, had branches operating in Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore and Washington, D.C. The Boston office of HIAS was chartered in 1904 under the leadership of Harris Poorvu, Hyman Pill, Abraham Alpert, Meyer Bloomfield, Max Wyzanski and Samuel L. Bailen. The Boston HIAS operated autonomously from the national office in New York, even after their merger in 1916. HIAS ensured that Jewish immigrants had access to holiday and religious services and kosher food; provided shelter and social services; and assisted immigrants with finding employment and schools, often on short notice. This collection contains the individual case files of immigrants who received assistance from the Boston office of HIAS, ship manifests, tracer correspondence, scrapbooks, passenger lists and photographs. Some later individual case files remain restricted (those dated after 1960) and researchers will require permission from the archivist of AJHS New England Archives in order to view them.
The Hebrew Teachers Association of Greater Boston was founded in 1909. Its primary purpose was to unite qualified Jewish educators and to provide for their material and spiritual status. The Association first developed a curriculum based on the Bible, the Hebrew language and Jewish history in 1918. It was revised by a committee including the greater Boston Hebrew school principals, the Bureau of Jewish Education and prominent rabbis in 1922. The Association was also involved with Jewish cultural life.
This collection contains the papers of the Society founded in 1938 by recent German-speaking Jewish immigrants to Boston to assist their initial adjustment to the economic, cultural, spiritual, and social life of the American community and subsequently, to provide mutual assistance to its membership and aid to other immigrants. The collection consists of the Society's by-laws (1953, 1956, 1964); handwritten notes with the names of Officers and Directors (1949-1961), plans for cultural and social programs, agenda of Board of Directors' meetings, Officers' meetings, and Annual General Membership meetings (1950-1958); printed announcements of annual meetings (1963-1974); minutes of meetings in English and some in German (1954-1975); printed news bulletins (1956, 1961-1975); printed announcements of social and cultural events (1960-1974); printed matter related to sundry other activities of the Society (1964-1968); and miscellaneous printed announcements (1972-1974).
The Independent Order of Brith Abraham was a Jewish fraternity society headquartered in New York City. It was founded in 1887 after breaking away from its parent society, the Order Brith Abraham (founded 1859.) As a fraternal society it offered sick, death and funeral benefits for members, with both male and female members. In 1981 it merged with B’nai Zion, which is no longer in existence. The Dr. Gaster Lodge, No. 689, was most likely named for Dr. Moses Gaster, a Jewish scholar and Zionist. This collection contains an address book of members in Yiddish, a few blank invitations for meetings, a financial ledger, and membership ledger. The financial ledger includes minutes to a 1917 meeting of the Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, Local 171. Both ledgers are wrapped in tissue and should be handled with care.
The Interfor Club of the North Shore was originally founded in 1930 by David L Winer, a Boston University Law School graduate, as the Brandeis Associates. Initially having twenty-two members who just graduated high school, the Interfor Club, which stands for Inter Collegiate Forum Club, began meeting at the Young Men’s Hebrew Association in Lynn. The collection is comprised of revisions to constitutions, event programs, financial records, photographs, scholarship information, member lists, and detailed meeting minutes which outline the club’s daily activities.
The International Yiddish Cultural Movement (IKUF) was organized in Boston and held meetings there for a year. This collection contains the minutes of meetings of the International Yiddish Cultural Movement (IKUF), which occurred in Boston from 1964-1965. The minutes are in Yiddish.
The Israel Numismatic Society is an organization dedicated to the study of and collection of Israel's coinage, past and present, and all aspects of Judaic numismatics. This collection contains papers, certificates, and correspondence relating to meetings and events held by the Israel Numismatic Society of Massachusetts (INSM) in various locations throughout the state between 1973 and 1992. This collection also contains publications released by the INSM, as well as newsletters from the Los Angeles branch of the Israel Numismatic Society in 1990.
The Jecomen Club was a fraternal organization established in 1925 and based in Lynn, Massachusetts. Men over the age of twenty-one with a college degree were eligible to apply for membership. The group hosted both social and philanthropic events, including an annual fundraising theatrical production for the Jecomen scholarship fund. The material in the collection describing the club’s operations includes meeting minutes, photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and program books.
The Jewish Agency for Israel (JAFI) was established in 1929 to assist the Jewish population in Palestine. It is now the largest Jewish nonprofit organization in the world and seeks to connect the Jewish diaspora to Israel and vice versa, as well as running programs to support the Israeli population through education and economic development. This collection centers on the Department for Renewal and Development within JAFI, primarily between the years 1990 through 1992 and includes reports to and from the department, and administrative records, such as meeting minutes and budgets.
The Jewish Community Center of Fitchburg, Massachusetts was founded in 1947. Not much else is known about the Center. This collection contains Bulletins from the founding of the Center to 1964.
The Jewish Center of New Haven, Connecticut was first founded as a branch of the Young Men's Hebrew Association in 1913. It would later join with the Young Women's Hebrew Association and would remain the Young Men's and Young Women's Hebrew Association until 1938, when it merged with the Hebrew Institute to form the Jewish Center of New Haven. The Center provided vocational guidance, exercise programs, a day camp, and educational activities for the Jewish community of New Haven.
The Jewish Community Center of the North Shore was established in 1911 as the Lynn Young Men’s Hebrew Association (YMHA). In 1943, the YMHA was renamed the Lynn Jewish Community Center, and in 1972, the organization moved to their current location in Marblehead, Massachusetts, at which time they changed their name to reflect their dedication to the entire North Shore community. The collection mostly consists of group and event photographs and various publications produced by the Center, primarily between 1960 and 1999.
This collection contains a range of materials documenting the Jewish community of Lynn, Massachusetts. Included are materials from Jewish-owned businesses, Jewish individuals and families, and Jewish organizations in Lynn.
This collection contains a range of materials documenting the Jewish community of Peabody, Mass. Included are materials on Jewish-owned businesses, Jewish individuals and families, and Jewish organizations in Peabody. The collection was established by the Jewish Heritage Center of the North Shore through many separate donations of materials relating to Peabody’s Jewish community.
The Jewish Cultural Club (Boston) was established in 1924 upon the initiative of six young local Jews who wished to hold regular meetings to discuss cultural and social problems related to Jewish life. The club was founded as a branch of the Jewish National Workers’ Alliance. This collection contains meeting minutes and a few other materials that illustrate the goals the club members set for their organization and the different initiatives they took to achieve them.
The Jewish Family and Children’s Service was established in Boston, Massachusetts in 1946. It is the oldest social service agency in Boston devoted to serving the Jewish community, and it is one of the largest non-profit organizations in the United States. A major constituent agency of the Combined Jewish Philanthropies of Greater Boston, the JF&CS traces its origin to the United Hebrew Benevolent Association, founded in 1864. This collection contains governance and activity records of the JF&CS, including by-laws, a personnel practices code, reports, correspondence, event programs, meeting minutes of the board of directors, and speeches and papers presented at conferences.
The Jewish Family Service of the North Shore was founded by a group of Jewish women in the winter of 1897. This collection contains brochures of the Jewish Family Service 100th Anniversary Gatsby Gala in 1997, “Our Community Heroes” - Annual Community Service Awards and Celebration in 2003, 2004 and 2010.
The Jewish Federation of the North Shore was founded in 1938 in Lynn, Massachusetts with the objective to support organizations that helped enrich the Jewish community on the North Shore and abroad. After a period of declining donations and to consolidate services, the JFNS Board of Directors voted to merge the organization with the Combined Jewish Philanthropies in 2013. The collection contains correspondence, newspaper clippings and publications from JFNS, as well as a large group of photographs and documents produced for the Board of Directors in the early 21st century.
The Jewish Heritage Center of the North Shore (JHCNS) collected the records of the North Shore Jewish community and developed exhibits, cultural events, and publications to preserve and disseminate the history of the community. JHCNS’s records contain administrative documents, such as by-laws, deeds of gift, loan agreements, and fundraising paperwork, as well as documents related to exhibits put on between 1991 and 2002.
The Jewish Historical Committee (originally called the Committee on Archives) was sponsored by the Associated Synagogues of Greater Boston, and was intended to collect and preserve material related to the Jewish communal life of Greater Boston. The idea of the committee was first conceived at a meeting of the Rabbinical Association of Greater Boston. This collection contains minutes from the first three meetings.
The Jewish Historical Society of Western Massachusetts Records contain materials collected by the society that document the Jewish community of Western Massachusetts. Included are materials on Jewish organizations, families, individuals, schools, arts and cultural institutions, and synagogues; publications written about or by the Jewish community; and information on the Jewish Historical Society of Western Massachusetts itself.
The records provide material relating to the accreditation, fundraising, management, planning, policies, programs, and public relations of a hospital that continues to serve the Greater Boston area. The records includes correspondence of various Presidents, Board Members, and Executive Directors; Board and committee minutes; scrapbooks, photographs, videotape, and film created by the Public Relations department; records of various Auxiliary groups; correspondence, reports, surveys, and other documents relating to the Pediatric Rehabilitation Program; and artifacts such as plaques, portraits, and silverware.
The Jewish Rehabilitation Center for Aged of the North Shore (JRC) was founded in 1945 as a convalescent home for the elderly in the North Shore Jewish community. Over the years, the organization expanded and became a permanent residence for the elderly, and with the opening of its assisted living facility in Peabody, the JRC became the largest not-for-profit home for the elderly on the North Shore. The collection contains programs for meetings and events, as well as a small group of photographs and newspaper clippings.
The Jewish Vocational Aid Society, Boston, founded by Mrs. Margaret Davidson and incorporated under the laws of Massachusetts in 1907 as the Jewish Children's Aid Society; original purpose was in aiding destitute Jewish children. In 1936 became known as the Jewish Vocational Aid Society; members focused efforts on raising funds for needy Jewish students. Later, eligibility for scholarships was expanded to include non-Jewish students as well. In 1973 was forced to transfer most of its funds to the Combined Jewish Philanthropies and become a constituent agency of the latter organization. In 1979, remaining funds were transferred to the CJP and the JVAS was effectively dissolved. Collection contains JVAS materials dating from its beginnings as the JCAS and ending with correspondence between Mrs. Margaret Goldman (granddaughter of Margaret Davidson) and the CJP in 1979.
This collection contains scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, newsletters, photographs, and event flyers from the Jewish War Veterans chapter in Lynn, Massachusetts, which was founded in the 1950s. The documents provide information on the organization’s purpose and activities. Some information on Jewish War Veterans organizations and their Ladies Auxiliaries in the general North Shore area can also be found in this collection. In 1991, an exhibit was held in the North Shore about the Jewish veterans from the area, and materials from that exhibit are included here as well.
This collection contains a ledger recording the Jewish Welfare Centre of the South End's disbursement of funds to individuals and families in need, as well as individual and organizational donations it recieved.
There is little information on the Kadimah Zionist Club as an organization other than being a regional branch of the Zionist Organization of America. Past presidents included Benjamin Rabalsky, Morris Rabinovitz, and Max Miller. The club occupied two locations, 27 School Street in Boston in 1929 and by 1934 and 1935, Barristers Hall, also in Boston. This collection contains the records of the Kadimah Zionist Club, 1929-1935. It includes a membership list for January 1929, letters sent to members from the president announcing upcoming meetings, and an undated raffle book. The raffle book is of interest as it is a raffle for two paintings, "Tower of David" and "Palestine Dwellings" done by the artist Joseph Tepper.
The Kehillath Israel Synagogue Records includes numerous photographs, publications and event information pertaining to services, fundraisers and anniversaries at the Synagogue from its first official year in 1924 to more recently, 2001. The primary bulk of the papers consist of photographs, K.I. Brotherhood papers and ephemera, and activities supported by the Synagogue. Kehillath Israel was home to noteworthy Rabbis, including Louis M. Epstein, Judah Nadich, and Manual Saltzman. Correspondence, photographs and programs about events regarding these three Rabbis are included in this collection. Also part of the collection are several scrapbooks, most of which are very fragile, that offer a glimpse into the synagogue's own historical documentation process.
In the late 19th- and early 20th-centuries, Brockton, Massachusetts was an industrial center that drew Jewish artisans and laborers to the city. They formed an organization known as the Labor League. This collection contains ledger books with member names and financial records.
The Labor Lyceum Association of Brockton was established in the mid-1920s as the governing body of the Labor Lyceum building in Brockton, Massachusetts. Labor lyceums were often centers for Yiddish culture and socialist values where members could gather for socializing, and they also acted as headquarters for labor unions and other political and social groups. The collection consists of two books containing minutes from the weekly meetings of the association’s Board of Directors, along with a small group of notes, receipts, and newspaper clippings.
The Laymen’s Institute (now known as TheRetreat) is a summer weekend retreat started in 1946 and sponsored by the New England Region of the Federation of Jewish Men’s Clubs. The records include correspondence, speeches, short sermons, programs, ephemera, and cassette recordings of lectures. There is also a scrapbook and framed photo collage.
The Lexington Jewish Leisure Group was formed in 1972 by members of Lexington’s Temple Emunah and Temple Isaiah to serve as a social group for older and retired Jewish people. After the Group affiliated with the Golden Age Council, a service of the Associated Jewish Community Centers, in 1972, it would also hold meetings at Belmont’s Temple Beth-El. The Leisure Group organized outings and activities for the Jewish senior citizens of the area.
The Louisa May Alcott Club was established in November of 1895 at 9 Rochester Street in Boston, Massachusetts. It operated as a self-governing club with 11-17 year old girls. A constitution was set in place that ensured the girls would each pay five cents a week towards the club, but only while they were working. The participating girls were all immigrants or children of immigrants, and classes were held at the building to teach the girls English, cooking and sewing. In 1896/1897 the club moved to a building at 17 Oswego Street. This collection includes a typescript of a description of the club, written by someone with the initials M.M.R.
The Lynn Hebrew Young Men’s Aid Association was founded in 1903 by a group of Lynn men who wanted to assist new Jewish immigrants. In the 1940s, Lynn was no longer a community of immigrants, and the focus of the organization began to change. Now members utilized the club for various medical and insurance benefits, as well as for socializing. By January 1970 the Jewish community in Lynn had dwindled and the organization voted to dissolve the organization. This collection includes financial and membership ledgers, by-laws in Yiddish and English, and membership forms and cards.
The Massachusetts Board of Rabbis was founded in 1938 as the Rabbinical Association of Greater Boston by Rabbis Herman Rubenovitz, Louis Epstein, Joshua Loth Lieberman, Beryl D. Cohen, and Sam Abrams. During the 1970s the Board focused on its chaplaincy work in hospitals as well as timely topics, such as social action, chevruta, and health insurance for Rabbis. This collection contains minutes, correspondence and statements regarding the Board's work around hospital chaplaincy, kashruth, Israel, intermarriage, and the Vietnam War.
The Max C. Rosenfeld Foundation is an organization that grants non-interest loans to young Jewish women in the Greater Boston Area who need financial help in receiving an education or vocation. This collection includes administrative records of the Foundation, including Board of Trustees meeting minutes and Max Rosenfeld's will, in which he detailed the purpose and establishment of the Foundation, as well as materials relating to the application process and recipients of loans. Many items are restricted.
The Boston Meretz Relief Association (Boston MRA) was founded by the Jewish immigrants of the town of Meretz, Lithuania, Russia. Officially incorporated in 1893, the Boston MRA was an association that celebrated their Meretz identity and heritage, as well as a humanitarian association dedicated to assist all Meretzers in need, whether in Boston or in Israel. This collection contains constitutions, meeting minutes, financial reports, correspondence, photographs (including photos of the Lithuanian town of Meretz and its inhabitants between the two World Wars), and miscellaneous historical information.
Mosaic was an academic journal of literature, art, politics and opinion, published by students of the Harvard-Radcliffe Hillel Society of the B'nai B'rith. Its contributing authors consisted of both students and faculty. The exact founding date of the journal is unknown, possibly 1959/1960, but it is certain that its last publication was spring of 1971. This collection contains correspondence, financial records and two ledgers, reviews of the publication, and copies of subscription forms, a packing slip and fliers. One of the financial ledgers is fragile and should be handled with care.
Mount Scopus Lodge in Malden, Massachusetts was a Masonic Lodge established in 1930 by Bertram E. Green and George Kramer. Named for the mountain from which Roman legions and crusaders conducted their assaults on Jerusalem, the Lodge had a strong following in the first ten years of their existence. This collection contains by-laws, concert programs, and a booklet with a historical sketch.
The National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW), Greater Boston Evening Branch was established as a section of the larger national organization in 1981. Originally called the Moonlighters of Greater Boston, the group went through a period as the Young Women’s Branch, before becoming the Evening Branch. The collection contains an incomplete run of newsletters from the section’s beginnings through 1993, as well as member correspondence, such as announcements and invitations. The collection as includes notes and minutes from some of the Young Women’s and Evening Branch board meetings.
On January 1, 1900, a group of lawyers and doctors gathered at a meeting called by Jacob J. Silverman to discuss the advantages of living in Boston with its many surrounding institutions of higher learning, and how they could increase their cultural knowledge. They also wanted to learn from each other the basic principals of their various professions. The members of the club eventually consisted of lawyers, optometrists, physicians, scientists, and members of a variety of other professions as well. This collection contains scrapbooks, photographs, news clippings and correspondence.
The New England Jewish Free Press (NEJFP) started as a project by students at the Harvard Hillel Graduate Society, and it soon expanded and collaborated with other universities and organizations. Despite its expansion, it remained an independent student facilitated organization. NEJFP produced two main publications: Jewish Boston: a Guide and New England Jewry. This collection contains the original statement of purpose, correspondence, meeting notes, volunteer applications, financial records, and various ephemera (button, bumper stickers). Please note that the volunteer applications are restricted.
The New England Jewish Music Forum was a non-profit organization created in 1958 committed to presenting performances of Jewish music in the Boston area. The organization closed its doors in 1990 after thirty-two years due to financial hardship and low membership. The collection includes meeting minutes, by-laws, and finances, as well as photographs of forum events, performance programs and brochures, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and concert files.
This collection consists of the New England Student Struggle for Soviet Jewry's correspondence, articles, public awareness materials, membership lists and financial statements from 1970-1975. Included are letters to and from government officials and Rabbis who supported the cause. Notices and flyers are comprised of membership meetings, protests, and lectures. Memorabilia, such as bumper stickers and a protest flag (made of paper) are also included in the collection.
The Ostro Hebrew Marshoe Society was the overseer of the Ostro Hebrew Marshoe Cemetery, located on Baker Street in West Roxbury, Massachusetts. In 1984, it merged with the Jewish Cemetery Association of Massachusetts, which is now responsible for the care of the cemetery. This series contains by-laws of the Society and its Cemetery Association.
Rehabilitation Services of Boston, Massachusetts was sponsored by the Jewish community to assist prisoners in Massachusetts correctional facilities, and focused on developing services for Jewish inmates. The organization was concerned with problems in correctional programs, available rehabilitation services, and general care for Jewish inmates. This collection contains a list of Jewish inmates in three correctional facilities, correspondence pertaining to inmates, their care, parole and preparation for parole, reports and minutes from meetings. Please note that folder 1, Correspondence, and folder 5, Names of Jewish Inmates, contain inmate details and are restricted.
The Ladies Bikur Cholim Society of Roxbury, Massachusetts, was the founding organization of Jewish Memorial Hospital. In the 1920s, Beth Israel Hospital moved to a larger medical facility in Boston and sold their existing building to the Society. The president at the time of the building's purchase was Ida Cooper. This collection contains the minutes book of the Board of Directors meetings, with meeting minutes and membership lists from 1928-1932. The meeting minutes specifically discuss the purchase of the old Beth Israel Hospital Building (dated October 2, 1928.) Minutes are well-written and detailed, and provide additional insight into the founding and beginnings of Jewish Memorial Hospital.
The Student Coalition for Soviet Jewry (SCSJ) was founded in 1977 in response to the arrest of Anatoly B. Shcharansky. Thirteen students from Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts went to Washington, D.C. to lobby Congress about the problems faced by Jews in the Soviet Union. The numbers of students involved continued to grow, and expanded to include students from other colleges and universities in the United States. The Washington Lobby, which was held every February, provided opportunities for students to meet with members of Congress to educate them on the plight of Soviet Jews and urge them to get involved, either in letter writing campaigns or the adoption of Refuseniks. Students also participated in silent vigils in front of the Soviet embassy and met with representatives of the Soviet Affairs desk at the State Department. This collection includes correspondence, news clippings, newsletters, photographs, informational sourcebooks, and congressional monitoring reports.
The Synagogue Council of Massachusetts was founded in 1941 as the Associated Synagogues of Greater Boston (and later the Associated Synagogues of Massachusetts). The documents in this collection describe the proceedings and activities of the Synagogue Council of Massachusetts, as well as those of its affiliated organizations, including the Massachusetts Board of Rabbis, the Rabbinical Association of Greater Boston, the Kashruth Commission, the Beth Din, and the Jewish Chaplaincy Council. This collection contains meeting minutes, correspondence, flyers, brochures, pamphlets, reports, financial documents, photographs, scrapbooks, news clippings, directories, and newsletters.
Temple B’nai Abraham is a Conservative congregation, originally founded in Beverly, Massachusetts in 1908 as the Sons of Abraham. The Hebrew Community Center was annexed to the synagogue in 1930 and incorporated social groups, such as the Sisterhood and the Beverly Lodge of B’nai B’rith. The congregation expanded to a new location in 1962 and officially changed their name to Temple B’nai Abraham. The collection was formed by a former president of the Sisterhood and contains Temple B’nai Abraham programs and announcements, Sisterhood newsletters, and photographs.
Temple Beth El was founded in Lynn in 1924. In 1946, members of the congregation split off to form Temple Israel, and in 1968, Temple Beth El expanded from its Lynn location to Swampscott. The two temples reunited in 2005 to become Congregation Shirat Hiyam. This collection contains documents related to many areas of synagogue life, including general membership, the music program, the Religious School, temple governance, and the Sisterhood.
In 1916, the Jewish community of Boston established Beth Israel Temple Beth-El, located on the East Side of Providence, dates back to 1849, with the creation of the group "Sons of Israel." On September 10, 1849, Solomon Pareira, Leonard Gavitts and Morris Steinberg were granted an acre of land along the New London Turnpike (now Reservoir Avenue) to establish a cemetery. In 1854, the Congregation of the Sons of Israel and David was established, leading to president Solomon Pareira's deeding of the cemetery land in 1857 for the sole utilization of the congregation. This collection contains programs, sermons and newsletters. Although the congregation was originally Orthodox, it affiliated with the Union of American Hebrew Congregations (Union for Reform Judaism) in 1877.
Temple B'nai Jacob was an Orthodox synagogue on Sylvia Street in Lexington, Massachusetts. Their first service was held on Passover, 1916. Although this congregation is no longer operational, two synagogues in Lexington—Temple Emunah (Conservative) and Temple Isaiah (Reform)—have their roots in Temple B'nai Jacob. This collection contains one financial ledger in English and Yiddish for Temple B'nai Jacob.
Temple Emanuel was founded in 1920 in Lawrence, Massachusetts. It began by serving a small immigrant Jewish community that has since grown to an affluent and lively congregation of about 600 families. This growth occurred largely under the tenure of Rabbi Harry A. Roth, who lead the congregation from 1962 until 1990 and oversaw the temple’s move to Andover, Massachusetts. This collection includes correspondence, photographs, and sermons.
Temple Israel was founded as Congregation Adath Israel in 1854 when a group of German Jews broke from Congregation Ohabei Shalom. The congregation was also known as the Pleasant Street Synagogue. In 1859, the congregation purchased cemetery land in Wakefield, Massachusetts. The synagogue was, and remains, a Reform congregation, and has been home to well known Rabbis, including Joshua Loth Liebman and Roland B. Gittelsohn. This collection contains flyers, newsletters, pamphlets, sermons and a yearbook.
Temple Israel of Swampscott and Marblehead was founded in 1946 by former members of Temple Beth El in Lynn. The new congregation purchased land at 837 Humphrey Street in Swampscott in 1947, and the synagogue and school stood at this location until the unification of Temple Israel and Temple Beth El in 2005. The collection contains administrative documents, records from the Brotherhood and Sisterhood organizations and the Hebrew School, publications, photographs of the synagogue and its membership, and documents related to the groundbreaking ceremony for the new temple building in 1955.
Temple Ner Tamid was founded in 1959 by local Jewish families who wanted a conservative synagogue in their home town of Peabody, Mass. Following its inception the congregation was able to buy a tract of land and raise money for construction of the temple, which was completed in 1965. Included are correspondence and other mailings, event programs, seating charts, temple by-laws, a Landscaping Committee record book, meeting and expense reports, and membership lists.
Temple Ohabei Shalom was founded on February 26, 1843 by several Boston Jewish families, and is the first synagogue established in Massachusetts. After meeting in the homes of both a founding congregant and the first elected Rabbi, Abraham Saling, Ohabei Shalom dedicated its first building on Warren (now Warrenton) Street in Boston in 1852. In 1855, the German Jewish congregants left Ohabei Shalom and founded Congregation Adath Israel (now Temple Israel in Boston.) The Polish Jewish congregants maintained the name Ohabei Shalom and the cemetery land in East Boston. In 1858, East Prussian Jews also left the congregation, forming Die Israelitische Gemeinde Mishkan Israel (now Miskhan Tefila in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts.) This collection contains flyers, programs and tickets for events as well as copies of bulletins and newsletters, such as Brotherhood Bulletin, Stars and Stripes, Temple Bulletin and Temple Tidings.
Temple Shalom is an Egalitarian Conservative Synagogue in Salem, Massachusetts, formerly called the Sons of Jacob. The congregation was formed by European Jewish immigrants in the Salem area in 1898. This collection includes photographs of congregation members and activities, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, meeting minutes, and various publications.
Temple Sinai was founded in 1953 and became a hub of vibrant Jewish life on the North Shore of Massachusetts. Rabbi Meyer Strassfeld served as the congregation's spiritual leader from 1965-1989, and during this time he involved the community in the Soviet Jewry movement and led the dedication of a Torah scroll saved during the Holocaust. The collection contains many event flyers, booklets, and newspaper clippings that illustrate Temple Sinai's active community.
Touro Synagogue in Newport, Rhode Island, is the nation’s oldest synagogue. The Jewish community of Newport was founded in 1658 by a small group of Sephardic Jews seeking religious freedom. In 1758, Isaac Touro, a Dutch Jew, became the community’s spiritual leader. Shortly after, the congregation purchased land and hired Peter Harrison to design the Synagogue. The building was dedicated in 1763, and has continued to serve Newport’s Jewish community. This collection consists of addresses, annual reports, correspondence, board meeting minutes, articles and newspaper clippings concerning the synagogue, as well as publications, a calendar, dedication pamphlets, postcards, slides, negatives, a scrapbook and invitations to miscellaneous events. Most of these materials are secondary and were collected by staff at the American Jewish Historical Society. For original records, please contact the Newport Historical Society.
In 1864, congregants of Adath Israel (Temple Israel of Boston) and Ohabei Shalom founded the United Hebrew Benevolent Association, a charitable organization serving Boston’s growing Jewish community. In 1895, the UHBA and four other Jewish philanthropic organizations formed the Federation of Jewish Charities, the forerunner of today’s Combined Jewish Philanthropies. The collection contains case histories, including listings of funds disbursed to families and individuals in need, and a receipt, dated 1888, for dues paid to the UHBA.
This collection consists of an audited report of the finances of the association, from the time of its establishment until February 18, 1929. One of the schedules notes the members of the association with their addresses; material pertaining to a kosher meat controversy including a circular from Rabbi M. Klachko and correspondence regarding the controversy, a summary of the event and identity of the various participants and a humorous invitation to a meeting of the Association and one photograph.
Founded in 1846, the United Order of True Sisters (UOTS) originated in New York with the intent of increasing philanthropy and providing an outlet for women. In 1947, the United Order of True Sisters Cancer Services was founded to raise funds to support oncology centers. The material in this collection includes event programs, a certificate of life membership, and the correspondence of Sylvia Shapiro, vice-president of the UOTS.
Noemi #11 was an organizational branch of the charitable organization United Order True Sisters. The members of Noemi #11 were particularly dedicated to the philanthropic cause of aid to disabled children, and had a strong association with Children’s Hospital, Boston, and Massachusetts General Hospital. The collection includes meeting minutes, personal histories of the lodge, programs, photographs and correspondence.
The Upper Valley Jewish Community (UVJC) is an egalitarian congregation on the campus of Dartmouth College. The congregation hosts a Hebrew School and publishes the newsletter, "The Jewish Connection." This collection consists of several issues of the publication, "The Jewish Connection," as well as other miscellaneous invitations and programs for a variety of events.
The Vilna Shul is the last immigrant-era synagogue building in Boston and currently operates as a cultural center. This collection contains correspondence, meeting minutes, reports, proposals, photographs, notes, publications, financial records, legal documents, architectural plans, and audiovisual materials relating to the activities, internal proceedings, finances, early history, building renovations, and legal disputes of the Vilna Shul.
The West End House is a Boys and Girls Club that was established in 1906 by a group of thirty-five boys who were the children of Eastern European Jewish immigrants. Their aim was to provide a place where they could meet and work to improve their lives through mental, physical, and moral advancement. The club began in 1903, but was officially established in 1906 following aid received from the Jewish Federation, as well as James and Helen Storrow. From the 1940s-1971 the West End House under went numerous changes that included a more broad and diverse membership, change in location, and becoming part of the Boys and Girls Club. In 1971, it moved to Allston-Brighton where it continues to serve urban and immigrant youth.
The Women's Palestine Agricultural Association, Palagrass, was an organization founded in Boston in the 1920s. Inspired by the work of Rahel Ben-Zvi, Palagrass was established to aid in the agricultural development of Palestine, and later, Israel. This collection contains correspondence, financial records, programs, photographs and membership information.
The Women’s Scholarship Association was founded in 1907 with the mission to “further higher education among women in general and among Jewish young women in particular by granting them scholarships and loans for study toward a degree at accredited schools and colleges.” It dissolved in 1993. This collection contains financial records, correspondence, event materials, a constitution, and by-laws. Restricted scholarship applications are also included.
The Yiddish Phonograph Record Collection consists of 57 records, including three named compilation albums of cantorial and holiday music. The records contain a variety of types of music, including classical, instrumental, folk songs, opera, cantorial music, and Yiddish interpretations of popular songs of the day. A few records also contain Yiddish storytelling and monologues from theater performances, and some are in languages other than Yiddish, including Hebrew, English, and Russian.
Little history is known about the Young Women's Hebrew Association in Everett, Massachusetts. The first YWHA was organized in New York City in 1902 and soon grew nationally, with branches in several states. The YWHA of New England, which the Everett chapter was most likely a part of, was organized in 1913. It is unknown when the Everett chapter was started or dissolved. This collection contains a fragile ledger with membership names and dues paid; receipts from Filenes, Jordan Marsh, and other Boston businesses; and, membership application cards and a list of suspended members. Items in this collection belonged to Sara S. Schwartz, who was a treasurer.
The Zionist House was an organization founded to provide recreational, educational, and physical outreach for individuals and Jewish organizations in Boston. This collection contains correspondence, memoranda, trustee meeting minutes, reports, clippings, newsletters, and programs for anniversary concerts, lectures, films, exhibitions and other programs sponsored by the organization.
The New England Zionist Region is a regional branch of the Zionist Organization of America. The group was originally based in Boston and was associated with prominent leaders in the Zionist movement, including Louis Brandeis and Elihu Stone. The collection primarily consists of photographs taken at events hosted by the branch, including annual conventions and banquets honoring Drs. Chaim Weizmann and Albert Einstein, and Nahum Sokolow. The collection also contains a small group of documents and objects related to member events.